Books, Books, Books: A Birthday Give-Away

So you know that Anne of Green Gables meme that floats around this time of year? The one that says, “I’m so glad I live in a world where there are Octobers?” You’ve seen it, right?

Well, I have to exercise self-control and not re-post and re-share that beautiful and happy meme every single day of October. Because yes, it’s so very, very true. I LOVE OCTOBER.

The cooler temps, the colors, the crunchy leaves, the hot drinks, the reappearance of scarves, pumpkins, the autumn sunshine…oh, and my birthday! This girl is not gonna lie; I love birthdays, and I love that mine is in October. October 2nd, to be exact. TODAY!

I remember my mom telling me that when she went into the hospital to deliver me, the world looked all kinds of different when she left (the leaves, the colors, and a baby!). I have always cherished that memory, and I find myself (each October), thanking God for the beauty of seasons, life changes, and growth.

So since this birthday girls loves Octobers, books, birthdays, and giving, I’m gonna give away a book on my birthday…on this very lovely, autumnal day!

So what book am I giving away? 

I am giving away TWO copies of The Imperfect Disciple: Grace for People Who Can’t Get Their Act Together by Jared C. Wilson.

And why am I giving away this book

  1. It’s been a long time since I’ve picked up such a raw and honest book. A book that unpacks the meaning of “following Jesus” in the most genuine and non-fluffy way I’ve heard in a long time. SO GOOD.
  2. The title encapsulates my entire life and walk with Jesus. I’m an imperfect soul who needs grace. Why? Because I can’t keep my life together without it and without Him.
  3. I think we need to read stuff that unpacks the difficulties of walking with Jesus. Sure, there are a ton of self-help books that offer trite words and pithy suggestions for what a disciple of Jesus looks like, but to read deep and honest words about the hard and ugly of walking with Him is well…honey for the soul and meat for the journey. We need the “real” as we face the “real hard.”

So what are a few of my favorite line(s) from this book? 

It’s hard to choose, but here are a few of the lines that cut my soul to the core!

What is discipleship, then, but following Jesus not on some religious quest to become bigger, better, or faster but to become more trusting of His mercy toward our total inability to become those things.

To be gospel-centered is not to be law-avoiding. As Dallas Willard says, “Grace is not opposed to effort, but is opposed to earning.” So it’s not about “letting go and letting God” or some other similarly sincere but shallow spiritual hooey.

We are parched. We are starving. We are thirsty and hungry for the glory of Jesus.

So how can you win a copy of this book? 

In the comment section below, share your favorite season/month and the reasons WHY it’s your favorite, and I’ll choose two, random winners on Wednesday at 10AM (EST) to win a copy of this wonderful book!

DSC_0822

One thought on “Books, Books, Books: A Birthday Give-Away

  1. Fall. I could tell you that it’s because you finally get the harvest of all of God’s work and grace and mercy. But really it’s because I’ve been living in the south for the better part of a decade and I’m sick of being hot :). Also I like wearing light jackets and jeans over polos and shorts.

Leave a Reply

