Books, Books, Books: A July Give-Away

 

Let me practice the title of the book I’m giving away this month and say, “I am not going to write any long introduction because I have a baby screaming in the other room, children running around in pajamas at 1:32 PM, and an eye twitch that is a result of too much stress, too little sleep, and a good dose of PMS!”

So what book am I giving away? 

I am giving away TWO copies of Humble Roots: How Humility Grounds and Nourishes Your Soul by Hannah Anderson!

And why am I giving away this book?

Three reasons!

  1. Every single page I read, I find some nugget of truth to challenge my heart; it’s been incredibly convicting!
  2. I love how she beautifully uses flowers, plants, and fruits as analogies throughout the book to talk of our heart-soil; my mind loves word pictures!
  3. Along with the Spirit, it’s done a wonderful job of pointing out the areas in my life where self-reliance, personal expectations, and low-grade stress and anxiety have created weeds in my life– choking out some of the joy and creating proud soil.

So what are a few of my favorite line(s) from this book? 

It’s hard to choose, but I will pick out the two excerpts that packed the hardest punch for my soul.

“You are free to embrace your physical nature. You are free to stop obsessing over your imperfections because you know that to be human is to be imperfect. You are free to enjoy your unique genetic makeup that has been generations in the making. You are free to reject the lies that have made you ashamed–whether they come from the media, friends and family, or your own head. You are free to hear the voice of the only one whose opinion counts.”

“When we feel overwhelmed, we establish stricter boundaries and coach ourselves to say no more often. When we are tired we trust a vacation or carving our “me-time” to alleviate our stress. When we find ourselves falling behind in our work, we commit to better scheduling and longer days. When we feel like we can “embrace the mess.” And while any of these could be potentially helpful…none of them resolve the root issue. None of them eradicate the pride that is feasting on our souls.”

So how can you win a copy of this book? 

In the comment section below, share your favorite flower, plant, or fruit that grows and on Wednesday at 10AM (EST), I will select TWO winners!

FullSizeRender

4 thoughts on “Books, Books, Books: A July Give-Away

  1. A rose. It has several layers of petals and they smell so sweet. A rose is my favorite because I always helped my grandma in her Rose garden growing up. I never really thought how beautiful and special it was until years later. Every time I smell a rose I think of her and just feel her giving me a warm hug from Heaven.

Leave a Reply

