Books, Books, Books: A May Give-Away

I don’t know about you, but I am so thankful for my community of girlfriends. Though some are near and most are far, I find such comforting joy and sweet encouragement from these dear women. Some are single, some are married, some are parents, some are older, some are peers,…but ALL love the Lord and have been committed to caring and and carrying me through the years, the miles, and the transitions. I love my tribe, and I think my tribe loves me. And ya know what? It’s SUPPOSED to be that way. Why? Because God designed us to be in loving, supportive relationships that build us and grow us. But let’s be honest, community isn’t always easy; it’s not always readily accessible; and it can ebb and flow, change and grow. I’ve been there. In fact, sometimes I’m still there.

So when I saw this book, I was completely drawn and utterly interested.

I want to have good friends; I want to be a good friend; and  I want to be in a thriving, edifying, ever-growing community where God is the cornerstone and my gal-pals are the bricks.

So what book am I giving away? 

I am giving away TWO copies of Craving Connection: 30 Challenges for Real-Life Encouragement by the (in)courage community.

And why am I giving away this book?

Because not only do I LOVE the cover (hello, coffee cup, craft tape, and the pink-mint color duo), but I love that the purpose of the book is to do the following:

  1. “Embrace the desire God has given each of us for connection”
  2. “Invest in meaningful relationships, right where God has you”
  3. “Become the friend you wish you had”

So what are a few of my favorite line(s) from this book? 

Since I’ve only read three chapters of 30, I will choose the two that have impacted me the most (thus far)–the two that have stirred such a pondering in my heart over the last week that I just keep re-visiting them over and over again.

“Have you ever had someone reach out to you unexpectedly and the timing be so significantly perfect that the credit goes only to the Lord? Has the Lord ever brought someone to mind for you, making it clear that He wanted you to reach out to that person?

So how can you win a copy of this book? 

In the comment section below, share a recent blessing you have received from a friend and on Friday at 10AM (EST), I will select TWO winners!

Happy connecting!

DSC_0448

10 thoughts on “Books, Books, Books: A May Give-Away

  1. I received some flowers on my doorstep from an unamious friend. It reminded me to be better about blessing friends without reason.

  2. A recent blessing was a moms night out. I have not been out without my kids since June 2016! It was refreshing and I needed it.

  3. A “new Friend” called me today out of the blue. We were veritable strangers prior to her call but the Lord had purpose, as He laid it on her heart to reach out to me. God blessed me as I was able to share an experience and speak into her life. We serve a living, active, and “intimately- invested-in-our-lives”, God!!

  4. A sweet friend invited me over for dinner yesterday and then we went to see a movie. 🙂 It was a great reminder that I need to do a better job inviting people over! It’s such a blessing!

  5. A new and dear friend of mine called and asked to hang out, it just happened to be on the exact same day as we found out a family member wants our little girl! I ended up needing that night out even more than she did. God knew we needed each other that night!!!

  6. A friend consistently invites us over before small group and then proceeds to feed us. We live far enough away that we don’t go home between work and group and they keep welcoming and loving on us!

  7. Oh man. Did you author this book? 🙂 You are SUCH a good and dear friend; so loving, thoughtful, and engaging. You are a consistent blessing to me!
    One blessing from another friend this week was a less-than-24-hour-notice-will-you-babysit-for-me-she-said-yes blessing.

  8. Misssed the give away, but the book sounds great! I will have to get it. A blessing recently has to be when a dear friend I don’t get to see as often as I’d like made the effort of coming to see me and my baby and brought her kiddos along we made pizza together and just caught up. Like water in a desert land ❤️

Leave a Reply

