Books, Books, Books: An April Give-Away

I got a twinge of “ouch” when I read the title. Before I had even cracked the cover or read a single line of text, I knew this book was gonna be a doozie for the soul. “I think we should read this next,” my dear friend said. In hindsight, I probably should have lied and claimed to have already read it, but I figured that would be a “no-good, very-ugly lie,” so I bought the book on Amazon and started reading.  SHEESH! It’s a good thing she was the one who suggested it because in all honesty, I shy away from the books that shout conviction from the cover. There’s a reason why I tried to run, and I’m so very glad I didn’t because wowza, I needed to read this book.

So what book am I giving away? 

I am giving away TWO copies of Nothing to Prove: Why We Can Stop Trying So Hard by Jennie Allen.

And why am I giving away this book?

Three reasons…

  1. Because I tried to run and maybe one of you is trying to run, too.
  2. Because it’s good.
  3. Because it hits a “soul home-run” every single time I pick it up.

So what are a few of my favorite line(s) from this book? 

I don’t know how I can choose, but I’ll make myself choose this one.

“We strive to be seen, to be known, to matter. We’re desperate to believe we are doing a good job at whatever has been entrusted to us. But we are not enough. We are not God. We don’t have all the answers, all the wisdom, all the strength, all the energy. We are finite, sinful beings. And that is okay.”

 

So how can you win a copy of this book? 

In the comment section below, share a blessing from the past two days (NO CHEATING) and on Thursday at 10AM (EST), I will select TWO winners!

Happy reading (convicting-covered books)!

DSC_0166

 

10 thoughts on “Books, Books, Books: An April Give-Away

  1. Almost immediate answer to prayer for Grandson Jacob! Needs a urology work up to be able to proceed with a necessary surgery. It looked like a loooong wait, but we prayed. Within hours received a call that the work up will be scheduled in the next several weeks!!

  2. The ability to stay home with my boys and see them learn and grow- my oldest has finally figured out how to write all of his letters (upper and lower case) all by himself- lots of chalk letters all over our driveway! Love watching his love of learning grow.

  3. Being able to talk a walk with my kiddos yesterday morning even though it was slightly raining. They had a grand time picking flowers, giving them to everyone we passed! I’ve spending time with my kids!

  4. We were rejected on an apartment and then 2 hours later the guy called back and said they made a mistake and reactivated our dossier, after our pastor called to advocate for us. We will find out today if it is accepted or not. But thankful that we are still in the race for this one, because we want to be on this street in the neighborhood!

  5. My parents were in town for several days to watch our daughter while my husband and I had a little get away. She has continued to talk about them and ask for them since they left. All our family is out of state, so knowing that she knows my parents and already is growing to love them is such a huge blessing!

  6. Some blessings…my dad has retired from working the pat 29 years at the same job. He was honored today. My sister was honored yesterday after working for 19 years at Cedarville! I have some very faithful and committed people in my life.

  7. My husband and I were able to spend Easter together with both of our families. It was a joy to celebrate the resurrection, family, and the welcoming of a new life-together- in one place. It’s been a long time since we were able to do so. What a blessing.

  8. Our local church missionaries came over for a lesson and fellowship Tuesday evening. We were both feeling down with spending Easter away from our kiddos…and just not feeling the Spirit. Their visit and lesson brought the Spirit into our home, and has uplifted our home and dynamic. We are both feeling very blessed, despite our hearts missing our boys!

  9. Friends! Thank you SO much for sharing these blessings; I LOVED reading them and my faith was encouraged through it! Thank you! The winners this month are Justin Dodson and Julie Kuhn!

Leave a Reply

