No Good Thing

I’ve been reading through the Psalms this year (like the past 23 days) and as I sat with my cup of coffee this morning and re-read the words of Psalm 16, my heart was brought low.

I say to the Lord, “You are my Lord; apart from you I have no good thing. (v.2)

Those who run after other gods will suffer more and more. (v. 4)

Lord, you alone are my portion and my cup; you make my lot secure. (v.5)

I keep my eyes always on the Lord. (v. 8)

You fill me with joy in your presence, with eternal pleasures at your right hand. (v. 11)

“Apart from you, I have no good thing”

As this phrase resonated in my heart and reverberated off of the pages of the Word, I wrote.

Apart from you, there is nothing good. My marriage (apart from you) is not good. My parenting (apart from you) is not good. My job (apart from you) is not good. My relationships (apart from you) are not good. My plans (apart from you) are not good. My love (apart from you) is not good. My works (apart from you) are not good. My dreams (apart from you) are not good. My commitment (apart from you) is not good. My learning (apart from you) is not good. My teaching (apart from you) is not good. My talents (apart from you) are not good. My time (apart from you) is not good. My stuff (apart from you) is not good. My anything (apart from you) is NEVER good.

“Those who run after other gods will suffer more”

And I wrote some more…

The god of “affirmation from others” will cause me to suffer. The god of “obsessing over my words and actions” will cause me to suffer. The god of “trying to please others” will cause me to suffer. The god of “having perfect control and order” will cause me to suffer. The god of “well-behaved kids” will cause me to suffer. The god of “your alone time” will cause me to suffer. The god of “fear of others” will cause me to suffer. The god of “how I look” will cause me to suffer. The god of “being enough” will cause me to suffer. The god of “having enough” will cause me to suffer. The god of “anything else” will ALWAYS bring suffering.

“You alone are my portion and my cup”

And I wrote some more…

My husband is not my cup. My kids are not my cup. My friends are not my cup. My things are not my cup. My money is not my cup. My house is not my cup. My free time is not my cup. My ability to help clients heal is not my cup. My ability to make perfect decisions is not my cup. My organization is not my cup. My creativity is not my cup. My feelings are not my cup. My kids’ feelings about me is not my cup. My reading is not my cup. My generosity is not my cup. My neighbor is not my cup. My social media is not my cup. My ability to multi-task well is not my cup. Nothing (apart from Him) can be my cup.

“I keep my eyes always on the Lord”

And I wrote some more…

Lord, train my eyes to be fixed on you. Train my heart to be stayed on you. Train my actions to be focused for you. Train my soul to be consumed by you. Train my thoughts to be centered on you. Train my feelings to be tied to you. Train me to keep you my fulcrum– my beginning, my end, and my everything in between.

“You fill me with joy in your presence”

And I wrote some more…

You are my joy, my peace, and my portion. You are my enough, my best, and my perfect. You are my hope, my faith, and my fulfillment. You are my safe, my Savior, and my salve. You are my sustainer, my filler, and my provider. You are my glory, my good, and my God. You are my EVERYTHING when I am in your presence.

Because apart from you, God, there is no good, no cup, no portion, no lot, noTHING that will ever bring me forever joy. 

 

dsc_0480

 

Leave a Reply

