MLK: More Than a Meme, More Than a Monday

I went back and forth yesterday over whether or not I wanted to share anything on Martin Luther King Jr. Day and for some reason (too long to explain and probably not even necessary), I couldn’t bring myself to do it.  My heart struggled in a way it hasn’t before.

And though there is and was absolutely NOTHING wrong with the millions of people that took to Twitter, FB, and Instagram with their posting of memes, quotes, and other thought-provoking sentiments and challenges, I just couldn’t bring myself to do it.

I just couldn’t.

“Why is this such a struggle for me? Heart, why won’t you act?”

And as I thought about this struggle of mine and why my heart ached throughout the children’s museum we roamed yesterday (side by side with brothers and sisters of all colors and cultures), it wasn’t until yesterday afternoon that it hit me.

I struggle with celebrating a day without living it all the other days. 

And though there are tons and tons of people that posted yesterday AND live out the mantras and memes they shared and liked, I wonder how many of us (myself most definitely included) freely share on days like the third Monday in January without freely sharing all the other ones.

And as I reflected on that yesterday afternoon and into this morning, my heart felt challenged and my soul felt convicted. And because of that, yesterday, I couldn’t and didn’t share.

Why?

Because I wanted my heart to take a silent stand, making a thoughtful and committed promise that in 2017, I want to share on all the other days that aren’t so glamorous…on all the other days that aren’t so publicized…in all the other moments where no one else sees and where the rubber meets the road of our memes.

I want to share in the grocery aisle as I pass someone with different hair.

I want to share in the library as I rub shoulders with someone who has different skin tones.

I want to share in the restaurants as I stand in line with someone with different clothes.

I want to share in our church as I worship with someone who shares a different culture.

I want to share in the places I walk and in the places I live with all the different people my feet may meet.

I want to be a bridge builder, a gap-closer, a peace-maker, and an open hand on all the other days.

I want to be a safe place, a kind face, a thoughtful space, and an arm of grace on all the other days.

I want to live my life on all the other days asking, learning, reaching, and growing.

I want to live my life on all the other days ridding myself of my notions, my assumptions, my fears, and my close-minded blind spots.

I want to share on all the other days of what it means to be in relationship with those who don’t share my piece of culture, my piece of skin, and my piece of experiences.

I want to share on all the other days, in both my words and actions, that my arms and heart and mind extend beyond the confines of my white, suburban, middle-class culture.

I want to share, teach, encourage, and help our children understand, appreciate, and value all kinds of others on all the other days.

I want to live life and share love while humbly learning (Lord knows I have a lot to learn) what it means to live with open arms and an open mind on all the other days.

I want to share love and support on all the other days when no one else sees and where no one else likes.

Why?

Because there was an earthly man and a Heavenly Man who sacrificed their lives so that we could live all the other days learning how to love HIM and embrace ONE ANOTHER. 

1462809_864044137874_252492180_o

Enter a caption

 

 

Leave a Reply

