The Best for The Best

Yesterday, sitting “criss-cross-applesauce” at the base of our little Who-ville tree, we sat discussing the gifts that the magi brought Jesus.
I didn’t plan for the conversation; I wasn’t looking for the conversation; and I certainly didn’t anticipate the following conversation to go “down” as it “went down.”
But ya know what I’ve decided?
Some of the very best conversations (the ones that jolt the heart and jar the mind) are the ones that the Spirit blows. And I’ve been thinking about that Spirit-blown conversation ever since.
Me: Do you know what they brought the baby, Jesus, when they came to worship him?
Caden: They brought him gold!
Me: You’re right! And they also brought him Frankincense and Myrrh.
Evie: Uh huh!!!
Me: And do you think these gifts were cheap?
Caden: No, I think they were expensive!
Me: I think you’re probably right, buddy. So why do you think they brought him “their best” and not just “any old gift.”
Caden (with the most serious voice and the biggest eyes): Mommy, I think they brought him “their best” because they knew He was “the best.”
I’m not sure if my mouth was hanging open or not, but I know my heart was.
“Buddy, I think you are EXACTLY right! They gave ‘the best’ because they believed He was ‘the best.’ And ya know what? I think God still wants us to do the same today; He wants us to give Him ‘our best.'”
And then we went around and shared some of “the best” gifts we could lay before our King in 2016.
I won’t share them all, but I heard the following from my little “Whos” at the base of our tree:
“My best attitude.”
“My best kindness.”
“My best obeying.”
“My best being a big brother.”
And as I sat and listened and then thought some more over the past day, I’ve been asking the Spirit what “best gifts” He wants from me. And as I’ve listened with my heart and opened my soul, I’ve heard the following.
Jessica, I want you to rely on the best of ME.
I want you to rely in the best of me, knowing that I know best how to use your time. 
I want you to rely in the best of me, knowing that I know best how to equip you for the road ahead.
I want you to rely in the best of me, knowing that I know best how to grow, teach, and change you…your children…your relationships…your clients…your everything. 
I want you to rely in the best of me, knowing that my power is big…my grace is sufficient…and my plans are perfect. 
Jessica, I want you to rely on MY BEST, not yours. 
And as I drove to work last night, I breathed a sigh of relief and uttered a very simple prayer.
God, would you help me to remember in 2017 that my best gift is found in you, and may you help me unwrap and unleash (each and everyday)…the gift of YOU.
I don’t know what God is calling you to bring before His feet and offer before His holy manger-throne, but I pray that whatever “gifts” you offer Him…that you would rest in knowing ALL THE BEST GIFTS are found in Him.
dsc_0195
 

Leave a Reply

