Books, Books, Books: An Advent Give-Away

Friends!

The Christmas season is upon us, and I just can’t wait to give away this book! Not to mention, I want the winner to have this special gift BEFORE December 1st, unlike the year I obsessed over giving away a book half-way through Advent! So alas, I am doing a second give-away in the month of November, which means I probably need to do a legit give-away for December…stay tuned!

So what book am I giving away this month? 

I am giving away ONE copy of The Christmas Star From Afar by Natalie Ard. This set includes a beautiful wooden Nativity, a book, and instructions for a game that feels a little like Elf on the Shelf…only more awesome…drawing our children’s heart and eyes toward THE STAR above the manger!

And why am I giving away this book? 

Two reasons.

 

One, I absolutely LOVE the creative way that it incorporates both a game and the Christmas Story, engaging children in an exciting search to “find the STAR,” allowing parents the beautiful opportunity to talk about the Lord being our daily STAR, lighting our path and guiding us to HIMSELF!

And two, I love the simple Advent verses that the book provides, giving options for parents to engage children and their shorter attention spans. In this season of life, I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE simple, fun, and intentional ways of leading our children to the Gospel.

So what are a few of my favorite line(s) from this book? 

“Each day you star will be hidden. Look high and low. Once you have found it, There your Wise Men must go. Let your bright Star remind you that the Lord is your guide. Every day of your life, He will be right by your side.”

 

So how can you win this set? 

In the comment section below, share one of your Christmas traditions and on Tuesday (today) at 10PM (EST), I will randomly select ONE winner to enjoy this gift!

Happy Advent Season, and may God shine BRIGHT in your hearts and minds this Christmas season…and every day after…as you seek Him. 

dsc_00971

12 thoughts on “Books, Books, Books: An Advent Give-Away

  1. A tradition growing up was decorating the tree together. We each had our own ornaments and we’d put them on ourselves. A tradition now is opening a gift on Christmas Eve with jammies and we’ll watch a Christmas movie together as a family. We’ll expand that as the kids get older (popcorn, etc).

    Merry Christmas and many blessings to your family, Jess.

  2. My favorite Christmas tradition is our Dairy Queen birthday cake for Jesus! We sing happy birthday and have cake because it’s Jesus’s birthday and that’s what we do on birthdays! 🙂

  3. My favorite Christmas traditions are the limited ones I shared with my dad! He had a rule about Christmas morning and we all had to eat breakfast before we could open any present!

  4. This looks awesome, Jess! I always appreciate your books and ideas of things to do with little ones that have everlasting value! We always read the Christmas story from Luke 2 by the fire before opening presents.

  5. We, as a family, memorize a portion of Luke 2 through out the month. It seems every year we have a new kiddo to teach, so it’s fun for the big kids to help the little kids by teaching motions. This year it will be a refresher for my 4yr old and something new for my 2yr old. She’s a talker so it will be fun to see how much she catches on as the other kids practice. 🙂 We also read through the Jesus Storybook Bible in the month of December!

  6. This book sounds awesome! Thank you for sharing about it.
    One of my favorite Christmas traditions was my dad reading the Christmas story to us before opening any presents. We always had a huge Christmas brunch afterwards with extended family that was pretty great too. I’m looking forward to making new traditions with my little family, but for now I’m reminiscing from childhood. 🙂

  7. There are so many fun traditions to pick from! Growing up, my mom and I would spend an entire day baking cookies – like at least 4-6 dozen of ten kinds or more. With my little family, we pick out our real tree together and on Christmas Eve we can each open one present before bed.

  8. So many traditions, but a favorite is going to cut down our tree and drive through the local city park decked out in lights! The kids love it!

  9. Started a new tradition this year…gift wrapped all our Christmas books and dvd’s and put them in a basket. Then, each night in December, we will open one to enjoy together as a family 🙂

  10. We’re creating new traditions as our family grows. We certainly enjoy decorating for Christmas as a family after Thanksgiving. I also LOVE that we keep the Christmas/winter books packed away until we decorate – the stories seem to mean something more/different each year – and it’s always as though they hear the stories for the very first time again. It’s fun to have discussions about them that are so different from the last year!

Leave a Reply

