Before 7:34 on a Monday Morning

There was a meltdown over a lost Storm Trooper.

There was a moment where we thought the furnace was broken, four days after our water heater had broken.

There was an interrupted shower because someone had to poop and couldn’t get the bathroom door open.

There was a second washing of the hair because I couldn’t remember if I had or had not.

There was a fall-out over a sock that was twisted.

There was frustration over clothes that got wet when there was an interrupted shower because of an emergency bowel movement.

There was some drama over a hair clip that wouldn’t stay in place.

There was a breakdown over having to eat breakfast.

There was not enough oatmeal.

There was a a second breakdown over having to eat breakfast.

There was a “Come to Jesus” meeting over not being able to watch a show before school.

There was tangled hair.

There was a wad of hair on the floor.

There was a squabble over whose coffee got made first.

There was frustration over pants that were “too long.”

There was some sadness over a sibling who wouldn’t play.

There was some last minute switching of car seats and defrosting of windows.

There were huffs and puffs, sighs but no high-fives, and it was Monday morning…ALL before 7:34 AM on a Monday morning.

And as I got in my car and navigated my way to work,  through a bunch of unexpected and slow traffic, the lyrics of Natalie Grant’s new song came to my agitated and rushed mind.

When did I forget that you’ve always been the king of the world?
I try to take life back right out of the hands of the king of the world
How could I make you so small
When you’re the one who holds it all
When did I forget that you’ve always been the king of the world

Ohhhh, you set it all in motion
Every single moment
You brought it all to me
And you’re holding on to me

Sure, it was a rushed and frustrating morning. And sure it was a less-than-pleasant, even annoying way to start my week. But even in the midst of those moments prior to 7:34 AM this morning, there was a King who was holding ALL those moments–a King who was holding onto me. A King who saw it ALL. 

And when I realize that He’s the King of the World, I also realize that not only is He the King over Monday mornings gone awry, but He’s also…

The King over Presidential elections; and

The King over sickness and death; and

The King over loss and love; and

The King over change and growth; and

The King over schedules and seasons; and

The King over the unknown and confusing; and

The King over the battles and victories; and

The King over ministry and work; and

The King over finances and needs; and

The King over parenting, and over marriage, and over singleness; and

The King over it ALL. 

And when I forget that He is King over Monday mornings and all the other frustrating, annoying, overwhelming, and seemingly out-of-control things in and around my life, then I…

try to fit [Him] in the walls inside my mind
try to keep [Him]safely in between the lines
try to put [Him]in the box that I’ve designed
try to pull [Him] down so we are eye to eye

try to take the lead
run ahead and think I’m strong enough

try to take life back right out of the hands of the king of the world

And if there’s one thing I don’t want to ever forget, to ever neglect, it’s the TRUTH that He is KING OF THE WORLD.

Because when I rightfully remember WHO HE IS and WHAT HE’S DONE, then I remember that He holds ALL the Mondays, and ALL the days, and ALL the moments in His faithful, capable, and sovereign hands. 

 

dsc_0423

 

Leave a Reply

