Books, Books, Books: An October Give-Away

The tiny book that I’m giving away this month hurts. It really, really hurts.

This book contains fewer pages and fewer words than most books I’ve read and YET, I think it says more.

It says the things we need to hear; it says the things we don’t like to hear; and it says the things that have the capability of changing our souls from the inside-out…if we truly choose to HEAR.

And since this book is little, my introduction is going to be little.

So what book am I giving away this month? 

I am giving away FOUR copies of The Freedom of Self-Forgetfulness: The Path to True Christian Joy by Timothy Keller.

And why am I giving away this book? 

A LOT of reasons.

Because it pierces the heart, the soul, and the ego in ALL the ways that my heart, soul, and ego needed to be pierced. Because it’s short and powerful. Because it’s a struggle of mine and maybe of yours. Because it’s a life-altering way to view yourself, your sin, and your accomplishments. Because it talks about our EGO, the thing that seems to get MOST in the way of our joy and identity–a joy and identity that should be concerned and consumed with MORE of Christ and LESS of me. Because I devoured it in one sitting with one cup of coffee. And because it’s awesome.

So what are a few of my favorite line(s) from this book? 

“If you try to put anything in the middle of the place that was originally made for God, it is going to be too small. It is going to rattle around in there. So, the first thing about the human ego is that it is empty.”

“True gospel-humility means I stop connecting every experience, every conversation with myself. In fact, I stop thinking about myself. The freedom of self-forgetfulness.”

So how can you win this book? 

In the comment section below, share a blessing from the month of October (the best month…the most beautiful month) and on Tuesday at 9PM (EST), I will randomly select FOUR winners to enjoy this book!

Happy Self-Forgetting! 

dsc_0105

9 thoughts on “Books, Books, Books: An October Give-Away

  1. So many blessings this month! My mom visiting from Florida. Family time with my sisters. Pumpkin patches with the hubby and kids!

  2. I am blessed my mom didn’t have damaged from the hurricane, and she was able to enjoy her birthday. I am also blessed for another year being married, our anniversary for 11 years is this month on the 15th, Thanks for a chance.

  3. Oh we love Timothy Keller in our house…but yeah, he inflicts some major ouches! October is my favorite month too! I’m thankful for the opportunity I have to teach this week – something I haven’t been able to do (in this capacity) since before I had kids!

Leave a Reply

