Books, Books, Books: An August Give-Away

 

If I were going to suggest a new, Summer Olympic event, do you know what I would throw in the “Olympic Suggestion Pot?” Because you do know that’s how Olympic events are chosen, right? A pot (an Olympic cauldron of sorts) with a bunch of folded pieces of paper that read things like, “Trampoline, Golf, Golf on a Trampoline…Badminton, Canoe Slalom, Badminton on a Canoe”…you get the picture!

So here is what my piece of paper thrown in the “Olympic Suggestion Pot” would read:

“Air Conditioned Reading”

The goal of this event?

Read as many books as you can…WITHOUT sweating! 

Great, huh?

Original, huh?

I know, I know…the Olympic organizers would be blown away by the incredibly competitive nature of my suggestion!

Can you imagine watching THAT event on television?!?!

Bob Costas (in a hushed whisper): Look at that woman read! The rate at which she is devouring those books is absolutely phenomenal. Her focus is incredible and her fingers?!? SO agile as she flips through those pages. STUNNING! I can’t imagine how many hours of training she has endured to get to this place–reading in air conditioning WITHOUT sweating!! PHENOMENAL!

I hilariously digress.

Suffice to say, I LOVE to read! And in the summer, I LOVE to read in air conditioning!!

So what book am I giving away this month? 

I am giving away two copies of None Like Him: 10 Ways God is Different from Us (and why that’s a good thing) by Jen Wilkin.

And why am I giving away this book? 

Because I was absolutely HOOKED after the opening line of the book!!!

Wilkin writes: “If you had told me five years ago that I would one day write a book for Christian women that led off with a quote from Proverbs 31, I probably would have punched you in the face.”

And as I read her 2nd, 3rd, and 4th sentences, I just couldn’t will myself to put it down. I even found myself saddened, realizing the book was only a mere 158 pages, and I had only 157 left! Before it even began, I didn’t want it to end.

So what are a few of my favorite line(s) from this book? 

“We must recover the truth that was obscured by the Serpent: rather than being like God in His unlimited divinity, we are to be like God in our limited humanity. We are capable of bearing His image as we were intended only when we embrace our limits. Image-bearing means becoming fully human, not becoming divine. It means reflecting as a limited being the perfections of a limitless God. Our limits teach us the fear of the Lord.They are reminders that keep us from falsely believing that we can be like God.

So how can you win this book? 

In the comment section below, share an attribute of God that you reverently admire and on Monday at 9AM (EST), I will randomly select TWO winners to enjoy this book!

Enjoy those Olympics and stay cool! 

DSC_0129

7 thoughts on “Books, Books, Books: An August Give-Away

Leave a Reply

