Little Boy…

I know you’re just washing your bike right now…but little boy, I know I’m gonna blink and one day, you might be washing your first car.

I know you’re just shadowing your daddy around the yard right now…but little boy, I know I’m gonna blink and one day, you might be mowing the grass and trimming the hedges on your own.

I know you’re just riding that bright, red scooter right now…but little boy, I know I’m gonna blink and one day, you might be pulling out of our driveway with a bright, red car.

I know you’re just having little sleepovers with your little friends right now…but little boy, I know I’m gonna blink and one day, you might be asking for permission to head to a big city with your big friends for a big week of fun.

I know you’re just practicing your “kicks” on that little goal right now…but little boy, I know I’m gonna blink and one day, you might be walking across that field for your first, Varsity game.

I know you’re just learning how to write your ABC’s and 123’s right now…but little boy, I know I’m gonna blink and one day, you might be sitting at the dining room table with your Brit Lit. opened and your Calc. before you.

I know you’re reading your Bible stories  and asking all kinds of questions about our Heavenly Father right now…but little boy, I know I’m gonna blink and one day, you might be telling me about the soul who accepted the Good News you shared.

I know you’re just drawing sweet pictures for your mama right now…but little boy, I know I’m gonna blink and one day, you might be writing love letters to that kind and pretty girl a few streets over.

I know you’re just pretending to play police officer, fireman, and city manager in all your little costumes right now…but little boy, I know I’m gonna blink and one day, you might be calling me (adorned in suit and tie) on your way to your first job interview.

I know you’re just “playing house” right now…but little boy, I know I’m gonna blink and one day, you might have a house of your own, with a wife of your own, with kids of your own, and a little boy who is washing his bike.

Little boy, I know I’m gonna blink and one day, you won’t be so little. So today, I will look a little longer, embrace a little deeper, and remember a little fonder.

IMG_9961

 

Leave a Reply

