“Mommy, I Hungry”

She wakes up saying it every. single. morning.

EVERY. SINGLE. MORNING.

Walking down the stairs with her eyes barely opened, carrying her monkey lovey in one hand and her paci in the other, with her hair all sweaty-tousled and her breath all a stink, “I hungry, Mommy. I hungry.”

“I hungry, Mommy. I hungry.” 

And until I do something about it, she’ll continue and continue and continue.

Girl loves her food.

And I’ll be honest, her whiny plea for breakfast (and pretty much every other meal of the day) has kinda annoyed me–mainly because her hunger is demanding me to act and act quickly–but when I was reading in John 6 this past week, I felt my heart soften toward her food quest.

Why?

Because every single day,  I (too) wake up hungry to fill the empty. 

In search of “food” that will quench my hunger…in search of “food” that will satisfy my “empty belly”…in search of “food” that will meet my needs and leave me content and filled…

I hunger for affirmation, seeking to fill the insecure places.

I hunger for peace, seeking to fill the conflicting places.

I hunger for control, seeking to fill the scary places.

I hunger for love, seeking to fill the lonely places.

I hunger for competence, seeking to fill the unsure places.

I hunger for approval, seeking to fill the empty places.

I hunger for stuff, seeking to fill the proud places.

I hunger for image, seeking to fill the unknown places.

I hunger for schedule, seeking to fill the unplanned places.

I hunger for relationships, seeking to fill the broken places.

“I hungry. I hungry. I hungry.” 

But what does HE have to say about all this hunger of mine, this hunger of yours?

He says, “Do not work for food that spoils, but for food that endures to eternal life, which the Son of Man will give you.” John 6:27

Child, don’t seek for the the “food” that is temporary and unfulfilling. Don’t work for the things that ruin easily and don’t truly satisfy. Seek ME. 

“I tell you the truth…it is my Father who gives you the true bread from heaven. For the bread of God is He who comes down from heaven and gives life to the world.” John 6:32-33

Child, don’t seek the “bread” that is false and brings death. Don’t search for the “bread” that is counterfeit and empty. 

“I am the bread of life. He who comes to me will never go hungry.” John 6:35

Child, seek ME and MY kingdom. I am the ONE who supplies, sustains, and satisfies. If you come to ME, I will provide and meet ALL your needs. 

“If anyone eats of this bread, he will live forever. This bread is my flesh, which I will give for the life of the world. Whoever eats my flesh and drinks my blood has eternal life, and I will raise him up at the last day. For my flesh is real food and my blood is real drink…he whoever feeds on this bread will live forever.” John 6: 51, 54-55, 58

Child, feast on ME and MY work on the cross. Eat of the eternal and the forever; these other things bring death and hunger. Why would you choose to eat of something that leaves you empty and longing for more? 

And as I read through these verses and thought through my own feeble attempts to satisfy the hungry places in my heart and life, I realized (yet again) that EVERY. SINGLE. DAY, I need HIM to satisfy all my hungry places.

“Earth has nothing I desire besides you….God is my portion forever.” Psalm 73: 25-26

Heavenly Father, may you help us each and every day to not only awake with an awareness of our hungry places, but to also live in humble acknowledgement that YOU are the only bread that forever fills.

IMG_9549

 

Leave a Reply

