Books, Books, Books: A May Give-Away

I am going to keep it SIMPLE this month and in my attempt to keep it SIMPLE,  here’s how I’m going to introduce my book give-away for the month of May.

  1. Being a wife, a mom, and a follower of Jesus is hard.
  2. Being a wife, a mom, and a follower of Jesus is also a gift.
  3. Being a wife, a mom, and a follower of Jesus is sometimes a hard gift.
  4.  And because it can be a HARD gift to be a wife, a mom, and a follower of Jesus, we need encouragement, support, and challenge to help us embrace the GIFT that can sometimes be HARD.
  5. And that is why I’m giving away a stack of book-love.

So what books am I giving away this month? 

This stack includes Treasuring Christ When Your Hands Are Full by Gloria Furman, From Good to Grace by  Christine Hoover, Give Them Grace by Elyse Fitzpatrick and Jessica Thompson, and Letters to My Daughters: The Art of Being a Wife by Barbara Rainey.

And why am I giving away these books? 

One, simple reason.

These books have been an encouragement to my heart, a challenge to my mind, and a breath of fresh air for not only my “mama, wife, follower of Jesus” soul, but also to those around me who also share a love for Jesus, books, and their families! Some of them I have read in entirety; some of them I have just started; and some of them I have read at chunks of time over the course of months, but they ALL have been a blessing.

So what are a few of my favorite line(s) from these books? 

 

Treasuring Christ When Your Hands Are Full by Gloria Furman

“I know that I may not be rescued from the next blow-out diaper that leaks onto the floorboards of my car while I’m stuck in traffic with whining children who just want to get out and play . But because of the Gospel, I am rescued from having to respond to those troubles in the way my sinful flesh would prefer.”

From Good to Grace by  Christine Hoover

Our ideas of pleasing God involve being good at everything, never having weaknesses or mess-ups, having every skills and gift, and keeping the religious plates spinning at all times…[we’re] obsessed with being good.”

Give Them Grace by Elyse Fitzpatrick and Jessica Thompson

“And instead of transmitting the gloriously liberating and life-changing truths of the gospel, we have taught our children that what God wants from them is morality. We have told them that being good (at least outwardly) is the be-all and end-all of their faith.”

Letters to My Daughters: The Art of Being a Wife by Barbara Rainey

“Like misreading one teaspoon of salt as one tablespoon of salt, how we interpret his words or actions makes or ruins the recipe. When I interpret his clothes left on the floor as a message that says, “You are my servant,” I believe the worst.”

So how can you win this stack of books? 

In the comment section below, share something that has recently encouraged your HEART and on Thursday at 4PM (EST), I will randomly select ONE winner to enjoy this entire stack of books. Oh, and if you already own one of these books or have already read one of them, bless someone else with the gift of some book-encouragement! Oh, and one last thing…you don’t have to be a mom or wife to win! Being a follower of Jesus is the VERY most important, and there are a boatload of ways that YOU (without being a wife and mom) can be a blessing and support to those you love. Not to mention, From Good to Grace is for ALL of us–mom, wife, or NOT!

Big Hugs, Big Love!!

IMG_8935

16 thoughts on “Books, Books, Books: A May Give-Away

  1. Prayer with a friend at church. I always feel so refreshed when I spend just a few minutes with her.

  2. Rejoice with me! Aubrey has been praying! She is thanking God for things in her life, from the hats daddy has that she can snatch off his head, to her gecko, to spending time with da and pop. She asks for something, her birthday to get here quickly (next friday) or for her dog to go to school with her. It is amazing to hear what is on her 2 year old heart. It is challenging to listen to her praise Jesus for the seemingly simple and thr vastly meaningful. I find encouragement in her ability to ask, in faith, for the things that will be and the things in human thought we don’t believe could ever happen (like her dog going to school with her, her teachers would NOT like me!). It is astounding to me how easily her prayers come. She simply “talks” to Jesus. Where as I follow a strict formula of praise, adoration, repentance and request. She challenges my faith. Would I see a change in my prayer life if I simply talked to God about EVERYTHING? What would the effect be in my life if I praised God for all His blessings through my day? How would my faith grow if I didn’t only make my requests those things which “I thought” were in God’s will and requested God to act on everything in my heart, no matter how far fetched.
    The faith of children is simple. Perhaps it is time for me to return to a childlike faith, led by my own daughters example.

  3. Our neighbor – who has been really sick herself but showed up at our door to bless me with some local remedies for our sick kiddos. So sweet and thoughtful!

  4. My firstborn has started articulating his feelings to me which is a HUGE step for us. It gives me the opportunity to address his heart and soul and share mine. I was praying for the Spirit to speak to his heart for a while because we have been in a rough patch and I am so thankful for answered prayer!

  5. Our church is going through a family discipleship series right now that has been a huge encouragement to me! I am an all or nothing type of person, and have perfectionist tendancies. I get super frustrated when planned “spiritual” activities in our home go down the drain (i.e. discipline during bedtime bible stories, time outs during breakfast devos, etc). Our pastor has repeated over and over, using examples from his own home, that some of us need to lower our expectations. I am not a failure as a mother because my child can’t make it through a devo without getting reprimanded! (I also highly recommend listening to the podcasts for anyone interested…this was week 3 of 4. The Village Church, with Pastor Matt Chandler)

  6. I snapped at my middle child, who is the most sensitive out of all 3. I apologized and asked for forgiveness. She said, “Of course; I love you.” Thankful for grace that God gave to her to give to me…grace that is greater than all my sin.

  7. I recently had a chance to see in real life what “he will cover you with his pinions and under his wings you will find refuge” looks like. Of all the crazy things a goose made it’s nest on our neighbors roof and they let us come over and see the nest when the goslings hatched. It really is true that she covers those babies with her wings and protects them. As I pondered this I realized that we as mamas have a chance to image the character of the Lord in a special way. His gentleness, care, and protective love can be put on display as we seek to love our children. In turn, it was also a reminder of the way He loves us.

  8. My 22 year old brother became a father on April 20th and in the two weeks since my nephew was born, I have seen a complete (positive!) change in my brother. He has hit several rough patches over the years with drug use, losing jobs, etc. and to be honest, I was very concerned that he would be responsible to care for a child. I am so proud of the way he has protected and loved his son from the moment he was born and I pray that he continues to be the parent God wants him to be.

  9. Our speech-delayed son has started initiating prayer time! Our terrible-two-year old started saying, “Good job, guys!” or “Good job, Mom!” These simple things encourage my heart during the daily “trials” I go through as a mom.

  10. Watching my 3 yr old take care of her baby dolls and her little sister with tenderness and kindness and gentleness and love. Of course that is certainly not the example of mothering she *always* sees, but it touches my heart to know that my Father redeems even the ugly human moments of my parenting and I see His grace in such a specific way.

  11. I am a caregiver at home and work. I have been encouraged lately by how God is helping me minister in each situation. He is giving me more grace, gentleness, and compassion.

  12. What an awesome giveaway! I am excited for the winner! My almost 2 year old is not walking. He has hypotonia or low muscle tone. We have really been working with him to strengthen his little muscles. This week, for the first time, he has shaken my hand off and WANTED to try to take steps on his own. He has not gone far, but his desire to also want to do this was a HUGE encouragement to me. He usually throws tantrums because of his frustration and how hard it is for him. Praise the Lord for the physical and emotional progress!

  13. I was encouraged by a long conversation my mom and I had this afternoon. The process of self-discovery and transitioning to being an adult child and establishing identity apart from parents is difficult, and I have been very critical of my parents for several years, now. It is partly because I have been realizing so many things about myself that I do not like: legalism, perfectionism, type-A-ness, striving, focus on laws rather than the HEART of the law. With the same measure I have judged myself, I have judged my parents. It all stems from a heart of pride. 😦 And so, this afternoon, my mom and I had yet another conversation, and I am blessed and thankful that my parents still love me and show grace to me even in the midst of my hurtful, critical attitude and comments. I am thankful that my mom is willing to enter the mess with me and search her own heart and speak words of truth to mine, even though I have had a hard time accepting those words. I am thankful that she is willing to bear with me in love.

  14. Watching my boys laugh together. We have struggled with the eldest to love on his little brother … I can see his heart changing everyday! 🙂

  15. Ladies, I cannot THANK YOU ENOUGH for taking the time to share the “goodness” and “grace” of God in your lives. I am so encouraged by your perspective as you note the glimpses of Jesus around you, and I truly wish I could gift you ALL this stack of books! But alas, I can’t! SO, this month’s winner is Kristy Zarecky (#17) who sent her comment to my FB wall!

Leave a Reply

