March Give-Away: Books, Books, Books!

I don’t know what you’re reading these days, but I’m reading the kind of books that I like to avoid.

Historical Fiction? No.

Mysteries? No.

Autobiographies? No.

Romance? Well, yes…but no.

Dystopian? No.

Dr. Seuss? Heck no.

Christian Non-Fiction? YES! YES! YES!

Friends, the struggle is real. In fact, the struggle is so real that I had to make a New Year’s resolution in December to start reading more of them. Yes, the girl who loves to read had to make a resolution to read to read Christian Non-Fiction.

So why do I have such a tendency to avoid these heart-grinding and soul-challenging books?

Because unlike the Bible, I am unable to escape the “specific, here and now, and in your face” examples of spiritual application drawn from God’s absolute Truths.

What do I mean?

Well, let me give you an example.

I read Philippians 2:3 (“…in humility, value others above yourselves”), and I can be tempted to think (unless the Spirit jumps in and thumps me over the heart with His conviction hammer) something along the self-righteous lines of, “Ya know? For the most part,  I’m pretty humble. In fact, just last week, I did ______,” and then I move on my merry-cherry, humble way.

But when a Christian author (like say, Kyle Idleman) says something like, “Pride makes us defensive and unwilling to hear criticism or correction,” it’s a whole lot harder to side-step the reality of my pride and the many ways it manifests and even pervades my “I’m-pretty-humble” life.

Yeah. Um, yuck.

SO, I’ve immersed myself in a couple books this past month that the Lord has been graciously using to kick my sinful tail in all kinds of holy ways and ya know what!? It’s been really, REALLY good for this Christian non-fiction avoiding soul! In fact, they’ve been so good that I want to share them with you!

So what books am I giving away this month? 

I am giving away two copies of  A Praying Life by Paul E. Miller and two copies of Sacred Marriage by Gary Thomas.

And why am I giving away these books? 

Two, simple reasons.

  1. I think prayer is an invaluable discipline that I (and maybe others) need to grow.
  2. I think marriage is an invaluable relationship that I (and maybe others) need to grow.

 

So what are a few of my favorite line(s) from these books so far? 

“What if your husband’s faults are God’s tools to shape you? What if the very thing that most bugs you about your man constitutes God’s plan to teach you something new? Are you willing to accept that your marriage makeover — the process of moving a man — might begin with you?” Gary Thomas, Sacred Marriage 

“Sometimes when we say ‘God is silent,’ what’s really going on is that he hasn’t told the story the way we wanted it told. He will be silent when we want him to fill in the blanks of the story we are creating. But with his own stories, the ones we live in, he is seldom silent.”Paul E. Miller, A Praying Life 

So how can you win a copy of one of these books? 

In the comment section below, share something that you tend to avoid that is good for the soul, along with which book you would like to win, and on Thursday at 4PM (EST), I will randomly select four winners to enjoy a copy of one of these amazing books!

Happy March!

IMG_8290[1]

5 thoughts on “March Give-Away: Books, Books, Books!

  1. I must state that I am most
    often a weak person of prayer. Not exactly a prayer warrior

    I pray for others all the time especially when there
    Is a request for prayer. I do not
    Pray for things and issues
    that touch me personally.
    I would love to have A Praying
    Life. I am encouraged by your resolution to do (read) what you most often avoid. Thank you Jessica! God Bless. ❤️ God Bless you

  2. Praying is definitely something I could stand to improve on…I’ve been reading Tim Keller’s book on prayer and being really convicted – good stuff! I want to give it to everyone now!

  3. I neglect many things. But something I actually avoid? Books on missionaries and martyrs. Maybe I feel guilty, maybe I don’t like to face reality, maybe I feel afraid, I’m not sure. Both books sound wonderful. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

