“Mommy, Easter is Painful”

With Easter decorations strewn on the floor and a picture book open, I sat with my kiddos on the living room floor and once again, shared the good, hard, and bittersweet news of Jesus and the sinner’s cross.

I told them about the donkey, the palm branches, and the shouts of “Hosanna!”

I told them about the bread and the wine and the washing of the stinky feet.

I told them about the difficult prayer in the garden and the Savior’s total submission.

I told them about the 30 pieces of silver, the betrayer, and the rooster who crowed.

I told them about the Romans and their fears, about the disciples and their tears.

I told them about the lies, the taunting, and the jeers.

I told them about the whip and the wounds, the crown and the thorns.

I told them about the long road, the heavy cross, and the men who flanked His sides.

I told them about His last words and His final breath, the dark sky and the mighty quake.

But before I could finish the rest of the news, my thoughtful son with pain-streaked eyes took a giant sigh and quietly said…

“Mommy, Easter is painful.” 

With tears in my eyes and a frog in my throat, I nodded and quietly agreed.

Because it’s true; it’s very, VERY true.

Easter IS painful. 

It’s a painful reminder…

of our debt and His rejection;

of our transgressions and His grief;

of our weaknesses and His punishment;

of our rebellion and His sorrows;

of our sins and His death.

It’s a reminder of what we deserved, but He took. 

Unjustly condemned,

harshly treated,

nastily beaten,

unfairly labeled,

and utterly crushed…

He wore our stripes and took our pain. 

A righteous servant,

a silent lamb,

a humble servant,

and a majestic God…

He bore our sins and took our place.  

Treated like a criminal,

exposed like a rebel,

and offered like a lamb…

He laid it ALL down. 

“Buddy, you’re right. You’re so very, very right. Easter is painful. But you know what else Easter is?”

“What?”

“Easter IS beauty.”

It’s beauty because when the stone was rolled away…

our sins were covered;

our debt was paid;

our rebellion was redeemed;

our eternity was secured;

our hope was restored;

and the wrath of God was satisfied…

ONCE and for ALL.

“And THAT buddy, is exactly why Easter is oh so painful and oh so beautiful.” 

Oh, heavenly Father, let us enter this season of Easter with humble hearts and thankful spirits, marveling at the way(s) you bring (in a way that only YOU can)… beauty from the pain.

 

But it was the Lord’s good plan to crush him and cause him grief.
Yet when his life is made an offering for sin,
    he will have many descendants.
He will enjoy a long life,
    and the Lord’s good plan will prosper in his hands.
When he sees all that is accomplished by his anguish,
    he will be satisfied.
And because of his experience,
    my righteous servant will make it possible
for many to be counted righteous,
    for he will bear all their sins.
I will give him the honors of a victorious soldier,
    because he exposed himself to death.
He was counted among the rebels.
    He bore the sins of many and interceded for rebels.

Isaiah 53:10-12

IMG_7715

 

Leave a Reply

