Hello, It’s Mom

You may need to go ahead and play this while you read sing. 🙂

Hello, it’s Mom
I was wondering if after all these nights you’d like to sleep
To sleep over anything
They say schedules supposed to help, yeah
But they ain’t done much helping

Hello, can you see me?
I’m in Ket-ter-ing thinking about the way it used to be
When I was rested and free
I’ve forgotten how it was before your teeth affected me

There’s such resistance between us
And a hundred nights

Hello from your little crib
I must have begged a thousand times
To ask you to fall asleep, the entire night through
But when I ask you never seem to have ears

Hello from my yoga pants
At least I can say that I tried
To tell you I’m sorry for thinking you’d sleep
But it don’t matter, it clearly doesn’t change you alot…anymore

Hello, are you tired?
It’s so typical of me to think about my sleep, I’m sorry
I hope you’ll nap
Did you ever make it into R.E.M or did dreaming never happen?

It’s no secret that the two of us
Are running out of fuel

So hello from the sleepy side
I must have dreamed a million times
To tell you that I’m wishing, for bedtime would be truth
But when I try you never seem to be thrilled
Hello from my coffee cup
At least I can say that I’ve tried
To tell you I’m whipped, would never be enough
But it don’t matter, it clearly doesn’t affect you alot…anymore

Ooooohh, any day
Ooooohh, any night
Ooooohh, any time
Anytime

Hello from the haggard side
I must have hoped a thousand times
That you would fall asleep by yourself on our couch
But when I try you never seem to care much
Hello from the tired mom
At least I can say that I’ve tried
To tell you I’m happy, you pretended to try
But it don’t matter, it clearly doesn’t phase you alot…anymore

Mom 33, Hello

IMG_7396

Leave a Reply

