Books, Books, Books: January’s Give-Away

I don’t know what “January Camp” you fall into but chances are, you fall into at least of one the following camps.

Camp 1: You happily and eagerly set goals and make resolutions (maybe even write them out in your leather-bound, mole-skin journal from Barnes & Noble that you scored in the “Bargain” section)…and will actually carry most of them out (just like you did last year, and the year before that, and the year before that).

Camp 2: You hesitantly and skeptically set goals and make resolutions (maybe in a paper journal, maybe in a Word doc, maybe on a paper napkin, or maybe just in your head)…and will maybe carry out some, or one, of none of them (just like you did last year, and the year before that, and the year before that).

Camp 3: You scoff at the people who set goals and make resolutions (maybe out loud or in your head)…continuing to be the mediocre awesome person that you always have been (just like you were last year, and the year before that, and the year before that).

Camp 4: You’re in some other “camp” not mentioned.

Camp 5: You prefer “tents” because you’re just too hipster for “camps.”

Well…there it is, folks! I think I’ve thoroughly and meticulously outlined and described the “January Camps.”

So…

Whether you find yourself setting goals in a mole-skin, on a napkin, or in a “tent,” or not at all,  I pray that each of you are RESOLUTE in asking the Lord to make you more like HIM and less like YOU in 2-0-1-6. To me, that should be the essence and heartbeat of ALL our “best-laid plans.” 

I won’t disclose my “camp,” and I certainly won’t bore you with my color-coded resolutions and bi-monthly goals (Oops! Did I just let my “camp” out of the bag?!?), but I will share one of my goals for the following year.

Jessica, stop making excuses for why you can’t don’t make the time to memorize Scripture!!!

Seriously, I stink at this discipline, and I want to grow in this area of my life, so I’ve decided that I will…

Shut down the devices at lunch time and walk through this Scripture Memory Devotional with my kids. 

Two birds with one stone…Intentionally Disciple Children and Hide His Word in My Heart

So what book am I giving away this month? 

I am giving away three copies of I Can Learn the Bible:  The Joshua Code: 52 Devotions and Scriptures for Kids by Holly Hawkins Shivers.

And why am I giving away this book? 

Two reasons.

One: I need accountability and maybe you need some, too.

Two: The foundation of this book comes from the words of Joshua 1:8 which says, “Keep this Book of the Law always on your lips; meditate on it day and night, so that you may be careful to do everything written in it. Then you will be prosperous and successful,” which aligns beautifully with one of my goals for 2016.

And what are a few of my favorite line(s) from this book? 

“We cannot make every ‘right’ decision for our children, nor should we. We cannot be ever present, and the older they become, the less and less they need us. That is why we must do what we can while they are young. We want to turn them toward the one thing –rather, the one Person–who will be there for them: the Person of Jesus Christ and His living, active Word hidden deep in their hearts.”

So how can you win a copy of this book? 

In the comment section below, share something on your “Resolution List” this year and on Monday at 4 PM (EST), I will randomly select three winners to enjoy a copy of this amazing book.

Oh, and if you happen to win (or even if you don’t), I’d be ALL ABOUT starting an online “accountability group” to find and give support as we seek to learn His Word. So if you want to be apart of something like that, let me know in the comment section, and I will contact you ASAP!

HAPPY CAMP-DWELLING, FRIENDS!!!

IMG_7352[1]

17 thoughts on “Books, Books, Books: January’s Give-Away

  1. We just started Scripture memory this year, too! We’re probably in the same camp; we have a subdivided-binder of goals and weekly scheduled meetings to assess projects. Not afraid to own that we’re dorks. Just not.

    There are a lot of resolutions I’m excited about but one continuing resolution that stands out the most is a weekly Sabbath. No technology, no work (including cleaning and cooking for mama), no buying. We light a candle, pour a glass of wine, and rest. It’s games with the kids, walks in the woods, reading around the fire.

    These are the resolution this soul needs. 🙂

    ALSO, Camp 5? Made me lol.

  2. My main goal is sort of two-fold. I want to be more intentional about discipling my kids throughout the day rather then just at set times (like before bed). The flip side, for this to happen means I need to be more intentional in my own heart about including Christ in every portion of my day as well!

  3. Our Sunday School class learns a verse every week! My number 1 is more family time. Life is crazy and sometimes we need to unplug and just focus on family.

  4. Our boys love watching Bible stories. I like to let them watch them, but not all of them stick to the story as given in the Bible. We just started “fact-checking” them against the Bible as a family (rather than just correcting them). I want us to focus this year on helping our boys learn to go to the source, and demonstrate that Mommy and Daddy need to go to the source too…excited to check out your January book!

  5. My resolution is to make music a larger part of my daily life. We’ve been studying the power of singing praises in Sunday School class and I’m so excited by it! Since it’s easier to teach through songs, I want to incorporate memory verses into songs! My son’s Preschool teacher has a song for everything and Brayden responds so well to it, so why not teach verses that way?!

  6. Resolutions are tough for me! Only because I hate to fail or not do them because I take it personally and consider myself a failure if I do not succeed! I know even if I don’t fully meet them it’s better than doing nothung. With that being said one of my resolutions is to spend more quality time in the word myself on s daily basis and also set side time to do the same with my kids!

  7. One of my goals this year is also scripture memory. The past couple years I have started out strong for a couple months only to get discouraged and give up when I fell behind. I want to do a better job of sticking with it even if I hit a bump this year. I also want to start working with C on verses. He is really starting to absorb words and phrases around him and I can’t think of anything I’d rather have him put in his little mind.

  8. A goal I have is for the new year is to communicate better with my son-to think before I react. I don’t want to just jump down his throat all the time-he doesn’t deserve it most times and I need to learn to handle situations better. I want to be a better example for him. I do not read from his bible enough and realize I need to change that. We talk about stories from the bible but do not open it as often as I should with them (hate those mom fails)

  9. One of my goals is to do a 10 minute cleanup before bed each night (instead of doing it in the morning – which for some reason is my preference) so I’m not distracted by clutter in the morning during my devotions.

  10. Scripture memory. I have a small group of ladies and we are currently memorizing two passages- one that we are all memorizing and one that is our choice. After I get off the computer, I need to finish memorizing them …. they are “due” Friday morning! (and yes … I have gone through the excuses in my head of why it would be OK not to have them memorized by Friday … and then I realize that three other ladies will have verses memorized then as well- accountability is great!). Oh, and I want to incorporate Scripture into my conversation with Ian. When he memorizes, I do too.

  11. It’s not a resolution but more of a dream that I want to fulfill. I’m going to chat with several assisted-living places in town and see if any are interested in a group of babies/toddlers just coming and playing with them as a group. My friends and I will bring toys and babies, and the elderly folks will supply some extra love for our kids for an hr or so every couple weeks. I just have to figure out a time that works…It seems that at least one of my kids is always napping or begging to eat all day long. 🙂

  12. I want to send regular notes, emails, boxes, to the missionaries that we support and bring my kids in on the action, by praying for them as a family, having their pics up, a world map with all the locations, helping me pack the boxes to send, etc.

  13. Scripture memory and reading a few classics are two of my goals this year. Definitely harder to memorize as we get older, so I’m hoping to really help my boys hide God’s Word when they’re young (and it’s easier for them).

  14. More like Him less like us – Brilliant!

    I’m in camp 4. Call it 4c if you want – for Calvin (mnemonic device only). I resolved a long time ago not to beat myself up on failure. Every day is new years since His mercies are new each morning. Not a criticism at all to setting and keeping goals. Rather a reminder that the accuser has no power here and accountability will motivate to success without becoming an idle.

    Thanks Jessica!

  15. One of my resolutions is Bible memory this year as well. I go through spurts where I do well and then slack off. I would love to be in the online accountability group!

  16. Nothing has helped my faith more than memorizing scripture, which I have put on the back burner way too many times before this past year when I made it a priority. I cannot wait until my son is old enough so I can help him memorize God’s word.

  17. Friends and Readers, I can’t thank you enough for taking the time to share your thoughts, your goals, and your spirit! I LOVED reading your words!!! This month’s winners are: Rachel Gasser, Sarah Clites, and Amanda Slone!

Leave a Reply

