Books, Books Books: An Advent Give-Away

I have went back and forth on what book(s) I want to give away for December’s “Books, Books, Books” give-away, and my obsessive self has been putting up quite the fight.

See, here’s the thing…

I’ve known since December 1st what I wanted to give away. In fact, I’ve known since the very moment when we read the following words around our Advent wreath four candles on a cake stand wrapped with some weird, laying pine:

“But it happened: the wondrous impossible. It came right out of that chopped-down stump–the miracle no one ever dreamed of. Except for God. God never stopped dreaming of the miracle, the one He’d dreamed right from the very beginning, because love never stops dreaming of a way to draw close again.”

And when I read those words, I just KNEW that this was the book I wanted to give to someone EVERYONE I’ve ever known.

But see, my obsessive self has been fighting me…saying things like, “But it’s December 4th and by the time you give it away and they get their copy, they’ll have missed too many days to enjoy it this season!” and “You can’t start Advent on December 10th!” and “What if they start on Day 10 and miss all the glorious truths found within Days 1-9?” and “Oh Jessica!! If you had only read this earlier, then you would have known that that this book was fabulous and then you would have given THIS book away in November instead of THAT other awesome book, and then everyone could have started RIGHT on December 1 and enjoyed the entire Advent season!!!”

Yes. THOSE are the thoughts from the last four days.

But ya know what God whispered to my heart this morning as I was playing tug-of-war in my brain?

“Jessica, if you truly understood the REAL meaning of Advent and what it’s REALLY all about (anticipating the arrival of a notable event–the arrival of God’s son, the Rescuer of the world, the Prince of Peace, the Baby King, the Savior of our sins…), then you would know that celebrating the arrival of Jesus doesn’t have ANYTHING to do with you or anyone else “doing it right” or “doing it perfectly.” No. That’s the VERY point, Jessica. The baby came because YOU and EVERYONE ELSE couldn’t do it “right.”

SO…I’m pushing aside those perfectionist thoughts and I’m celebrating what Advent is all about…His perfection coming to rescue ALL our imperfection.

So what book am I giving away this month? 

I am giving away two copies of Unwrapping the Greatest Gift: A Family Celebration of Christmas by Ann Voskamp.

And why am I giving away this book? 

Simply put:

Because the arrival of BABY JESUS was a REALLY big deal for you, and for me, and for the WHOLE WORLD…

and I think a month-long anticipation is a beautiful way of reflecting on the “REALLY-BIG-DEAL” gift we have been given as we eagerly await for the second arrival of our REIGNING KING. 

And what are a few of my favorite line(s) from this book? 

Well, we’ve only read three days so far, but these are a few of my faves.

“Out of the stump came one tender branch that would grow right into a crown of thorns, right into a rugged cross, right into a ladder–your ladder back to God.”

“No matter what happens in the world, the truth is always this: you were formed by LOVE…for love.”

So how can you win a copy of this book? 

In the comment section below, share a reason you are thankful for “The Baby Jesus, the Mighty King” this Advent season and on Saturday at 10 AM (EST), I will randomly select two winners to enjoy a copy of this amazing book.

Oh, and if you don’t win, don’t let that stop you from buying your own copy! Truly, it’s really that good…no matter WHEN you start.

IMG_6964[1]

 

 

7 thoughts on “Books, Books Books: An Advent Give-Away

  1. As a first time mom I understand in a totally different way how Mary must have felt – from pregnancy through watching her son being sacrificed and then rising again. How thankful I am for Mary’s obedience and for the sacrifice that my Savior made for me!

  2. The responsibility/privilege of raising up children in the Lord has revealed all kinds of sin in my heart and I have never been more aware of my own need for grace, as I imperfectly give grace to my kids.

  3. I am thankful that I don’t have to have my life together BEFORE I can be in relationship with Him…that He loves us baggage, junk, and all!

Leave a Reply

