Any of You

I never want to forget the way you excitedly say, “tory,” and wave a storybook in my direction.

I never want to forget the way you gasp before each word because your brain is working quicker than your mouth.

I never want to forget that cheesy grin, your wrinkly nose, and the way your smile lights up the room.

I never want to forget your random “I love you’s” and your aggressive leg hugs.

I never want to forget the way you hold your bottle to the side of your mouth, wiggling your tongue up and down.

I never want to forget the times when you look at me and say, “Mommy, so how were your clients?”

I never want to forget the way you sweetly sing, “Tinkle, tinkle Little Star.”

I never want to forget those big eyes that look at me and sincerely ask, “Did I do a good job, Mommy?”

I never want to forget the happy way you clap and say, “appy, appy.

I never want to forget your belly laugh and your cackling giggle.

I never want to forget the way you reach for my coffee cup as your little bird-mouth opens wide.

I never want to forget the way you yell, “I’M DUMB POOPING!!!”

I never want to forget the tiny-little “smooch” sound that you make when you give a kiss.

I never want to forget how your lips scrunch up when you’re really mad.

I never want to forget the floppy-softness of your little ears.

I never want to forget how you say, “Mommy, I’m not yittle any more.”

I never want to forget how desperate your voice sounds when you call for me over the monitor, “Mommmmy?!?Mommmmy?!?”

I never want to forget how it feels to see that big grin of yours as you run across the room and jump into my arms after being away from me for only a short while.

I never want to forget how you look at the camera and declare as loudly as you can, “EEEEESE!!!”

I never want to forget that little voice that asks his daddy at the dinner table, “So what did you do today, Daddy?”

I never want to forget the way you frantically run over to the snack cupboard and say, ” ‘nack, ‘nack, ‘nack!!!” 

I never want to forget the way you grab for your blankie’s tag and simultaneously suck your thumb.

I never want to forget how your hair looks in the sunshine.

I never want to forget that smug, little look that covers your face when you’re feeling proud.

I never want to forget how your hand reaches for mine when you reach the top of the slide.

I never want to forget the way you count; “nine, ten, eleventeen, twelve,…”

I never want to forget the way you awkwardly fall into the laundry basket when you’re trying your hardest to help fold the clothes.

I never want to forget the many ways you compliment me. “Oh, Mommy! You look stunning.” “Mommy, that dress is gorgeous!” “Mommy, you look so beautiful.” “Mommy, you’re so pretty in that pink shirt.”

I never want to forget the smallness of your feet, the chubbiness of your hands, and the roundness of your head.”

I never want to forget the way you look me in the eyes and say, “Mommy, I forgive you.”

I never want to forget the frantic-intensity of your ” Woof, Woof, Woof ” as we pass a dog on the sidewalk.

I never want to forget the thickness of your hair, the wide-ness of your feet, and the boney-ness of your knees.

I never want to forget how it feels when you nestle your head on my shoulder.

I never want to forget the way your hair smells and your skin feels after a long, warm bubble bath.

I never want to forget any of it…any of you. 

But ya know what???

I might.

And because I might, I write. 

IMG_5712

One thought on “Any of You

  1. This is so sweet!! I have a 2.5 yr old and a 1 yr old. What your writing are the exact phases I am with my kiddos!! I keep telling myself, “Don’t ever forget THIS moment!” Treasure them!!

Leave a Reply

