I Want to be THAT Mom: 20 Things

Today, I was thinking through the kind of “mom friend” I want to be, and here is what I’ve decided.

  1. I want to be the kind of “mom friend” who is quick to encourage and slow to criticize.
  2. I want to be the kind of “mom friend” who listens well and asks good questions.
  3. I want to be the kind of “mom friend” who shares the good, bad, and ugly right along with the nice, lovely, and awesome.
  4. I want to be the kind of “mom friend” who rejoices in the strengths of other moms and celebrates in their victories…even when I’m struggling and not winning.
  5. I want to be the kind of “mom friend” who can be confident in my parenting style even when my friend does it differently.
  6. I want to be the kind of “mom friend” who thinks twice before sharing my advice, my story, and my opinions.
  7. I want to be the kind of “mom friend” who is slow to give pat answers and cautious of offering quick solutions.
  8. I want to be the kind of “mom friend” who is up-front about my junk and honest about my yuck.
  9. I want to be the kind of “mom friend” who doesn’t talk about other “mom friends” with other “mom friends.”
  10. I want to be the kind of “mom friend” who faithfully prays for my fellow “mom friends” and their children.
  11. I want to be the kind of “mom friend” who allows other moms the freedom and safety to be themselves and express their insecurities.
  12. I want to be the kind of “mom friend” who knows there are a lot of ways to parent.
  13. I want to be the kind of “mom friend” who knows the balance between “being real” and “being a complainer.”
  14. I want to be the kind of “mom friend” who majors on the majors (i.e. fellow “mom friend” feels like a failure) and minors on the minors (i.e. fellow “mom friend” has decided to jar her own organic baby food while co-sleeping with her infant).
  15. I want to be the kind of “mom friend” who encourages my fellow “mom friends” to be married to their husbands and not their children.
  16. I want to be the kind of “mom friend” who supports my fellow “mom friends” in having a life outside their families.
  17. I want to be the kind of “mom friend” who can talk about things that don’t involve my kids.
  18. I want to be the kind of “mom friend” who can openly admit in the confines of a mini-van with a fellow “mom friend, “Sometimes I just don’t feel like re-filling the damn cup.”
  19. I want to be the kind of “mom friend” who doesn’t need to make disclaimers and excuses for why my children are imperfect, tantrum-throwing sinners.
  20. I want to be the kind of “mom friend” who is more known for being a “lover of Jesus” than being an “awesome mom.”

I want to be THAT mom.

IMG_5481

4 thoughts on “I Want to be THAT Mom: 20 Things

  1. Awesome list :-). AMEN to #15!!! And #13 was convicting to me personally – sometimes I think I justify “complaining” in the name of “I’m just being real”. Thanks for writing 🙂

  2. ME TOO!! Sharing … and I hope this goes viral. It ought to. All of your posts ought to. Thank you for your encouragement… You have no idea how strongly your blog speaks to me.

  3. I was thinking about very similar things yesterday as I drove home from work listening to Lauren Daigle’s FIRST. 🙂 If mothering is an act of worship, then we should all strive towards all these aspects of mothering! Love!

Leave a Reply

