Satan Hates Sunday Mornings

Have you ever had one of those Sundays when you’re just super elated that you made it out of the house and into the church pew without biting off a family member’s head and swallowing it whole?

I’m thankful for those Sundays…I really, really am.

Why?

Because Sundays are hard…really, really hard. 

A time set aside to worship the Creator and honor the Holy One?

A time set aside to hear the Word and respond in faithful obedience?

A time set aside for humble confession and godly community?

A time set aside to acknowledge our needs and make MOST of HIM?

It sounds great, yes? It sounds lovely, huh? It seems like it should sound and feel and look like a chorus of angels, right?

Then why in the world do Sunday mornings in the Buczek home sound and feel and look like an all-out war???

Missed alarms and rushed mornings

“Why didn’t you get up earlier?!?! Didn’t you hear your alarm?!?!”

Bad attitudes and irritable moods

“Stop whining and pull yourself together!”

Complaints about shirts and drama over pants

“You will wear what I tell you to wear. Now get over here and put on your clothes right now.”

Fights about toys and tantrums over shoes

“No, you are not taking your Bat Cave to church with you.”

Spilled Coffee and Abundant Tears

“We go to church every Sunday. What is the problem!?!?!”

Unkind tones and critical spirits

“Why are you paying bills and scheduling loan payments on a Sunday morning!?!?”

Dragging of feet and forgotten Bibles

“But I don’t want to go to church; I want to play.”

Boycotts over breakfast and unruly hair 

“For crying out loud, eat your eggs!!!”

Lame excuses and blamed spouses

“If you’d get up earlier to dry your hair, we wouldn’t be in such a rush!”

Ungodly feelings and distracting thoughts

“If he does that one more time, I swear I’ll….”

Folks, it sounds and feels and looks like an all-out war because it is an all-out war. 

Not a war against my whiny children, or against my distracted husband, or against my tired self, or against any other annoying disruption and chaotic distraction…”but a war against the rulers, against the authorities, against the cosmic powers over this present darkness, against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly places.” Ephesians 6:12

It’s a war because Satan isn’t a fan of Sunday mornings.

He doesn’t like corporate worship and life-changing Truth.

He doesn’t like convicted minds and confessing hearts.

He doesn’t like godly growth and supportive community.

Bottom line: He doesn’t like anything that isn’t about him and his glory.

So why am I surprised when he pulls out all the stops on Sunday morning, encouraging my flesh, distracting my heart, and sounding the battle cry?

Why am I surprised when my daughter has a blow-out 10 seconds before we walk into church?

Why am I surprised when my son is sobbing and refusing to go to his Sunday School class?

Why am I surprised when I’m testy with my husband and fighting yesterday’s exhaustion?

Why am I surprised that when I enter the sanctuary, my heart is irritated and my mind is distracted?

Why am I so surprised that Sunday mornings feel so crappy? 

Because I easily forget that there is an enemy who is waging war and rallying his troops on Sunday morning (and every other morning for that matter), and there is nothing he and his minions want more than to steal the Lamb’s glory, distracting us with things that sound, feel, and look like a battle against flesh and blood.

So when I walked into the sanctuary a little late with an elevated blood pressure and an irritated soul yesterday morning, the Spirit (in a way that only He can) drew my attention to the real battle.

And how did he do it?

A creed set to music.

Our Father everlasting
The all creating One
God Almighty

Through Your Holy Spirit
Conceiving Christ the Son
Jesus our Savior

I believe in God our Father
I believe in Christ the Son
I believe in the Holy Spirit
Our God is three in one
I believe in the resurrection
That we will rise again
For I believe in the name of Jesus

Our Judge and our Defender
Suffered and crucified
Forgiveness is in You

Descended into darkness
You rose in glorious life
Forever seated high

I believe in God our Father
I believe in Christ the Son
I believe in the Holy Spirit
Our God is three in one
I believe in the resurrection
That we will rise again
For I believe in the name of Jesus

I believe in You
I believe You rose again
I believe that Jesus Christ is Lord

I believe in God our Father
I believe in Christ the Son
I believe in the Holy Spirit
Our God is three in one
I believe in the resurrection
That we will rise again
For I believe in the name of Jesus

For I believe in the name of Jesus
For I believe in the name of Jesus

I believe in life eternal
I believe in the virgin birth
I believe in the saints’ communion
And in Your holy Church
I believe in the resurrection
When Jesus comes again
For I believe, in the name of Jesus

I believe in God our Father
I believe in Christ the Son
I believe in the Holy Spirit
Our God is three in one
I believe in the resurrection
That we will rise again
For I believe in the name of Jesus

For I believe in the name of Jesus

And as I sang the lyrics to this song composed by Hillsong United, the Spirit whispered to my angsty Sunday morning soul, “Jessica, the enemy hates the Truth of these words. Are you surprised that he fought so hard to distract you from this moment?”

Not. at. all.

Oh, Lord, may I be ready, willing, and armed to do conscious battle on Sunday mornings, knowing that there is an enemy who wants Sunday mornings to feel more like hell and less like heaven. 

003

One thought on “Satan Hates Sunday Mornings

Leave a Reply

