A T.G.I.F Give-Away

Confession #1:

Attempting family devotions around the dinner table makes me want to tear my hair out.

Confession #2: 

Attempting family devotions around the dinner table makes me want to tear my children’s hair out.

Whew! I’m already feeling a little bit better. I tell ya… this blog is cheap therapy!

Now…

I completely realize that these two, simple confessions may sound ridiculously foreign to some of you because your dinners are filled with peaceful cherubim, intentional conversation, and you’ve never even once thought about pulling your kids’ hair out. And for others…well, these confessions sound like a “no-brainer, hair-brainer” because, “Duh, Jessica! Why on earth would you even try and talk about sanctification and salvation when your dinner table often looks and sounds like the inside of Noah’s ark?!?!”

But I guess I’m a little slow on the uptake because I’ve just recently come to grips with the reality that family devotions around the dinner table, though they sound picturesque and godly, are not for us…at least right now. 

I can’t tell you how many times I have tried to force our family into the “we-sit-around-the-table-and-read-about-Jesus-after-our-bellies-are-full-and-maybe-even-sing-a-verse-or-two-of-Kumbaya” box.

Too…many…tries. Too…many…times.

Because after two hours 22 minutes of wrestling bums onto seats, attempting to keep the food off the floor, chasing down dropped cups, wiping up spills, and convincing children that the “green things” won’t kill them, choke them, wound them, or destroy them, we’re just NOT in the proper mindset to teach our children about Jesus.

We just aren’t.

Like the time I caught myself yelling, “We are made in God’s image, now sit down and shut your mouth!!!” Ummm…yeah.

So, after a losing battle that lasted far too long, we’ve recently adjusted our expectations and found something that works for our family and for our sanity.

And we LOVE it.

Confession #3: 

God is most honored when “The Buczek’s” do their family devotions at bed time…when no hair is being pulled.

So, for this month’s “Do-Good-Give-Away,” I want to encourage you and your family to make time (any time…the time that involves no hair-pulling….the time that works best for you and your family) to teach your children about Jesus!

“You shall therefore lay up these words of mine in your heart and in your soul…and you shall teach them to your children, talking of them when you are sitting in your house, and when you are walking by the way, and when you lie down, and when you rise.” Deuteronomy 11:18-19

So what am I giving away this month? 

I am giving away one copy of the book we are currently using (at bedtime) to teach our children about Jesus and the Gospel.

What is that book? 

It’s “The Gospel Story Bible” by Marty Machowski, and it’s AWESOME! In an easy-to-read storybook format, Machowski focuses on God’s plan of salvation and how the people, places, and events from both the Old and New Testament point to Jesus, the Good News, and His plan of Redemption!

How can you win? 

In the comment section below, share one way that you are attempting to teach your children about Jesus and on Sunday at 4:00 PM (EST), I will randomly select a winner.

IMG_3985[1]

9 thoughts on “A T.G.I.F Give-Away

  1. Love this. I haven’t been brave enough to even attempt the dinner time devos, and bed time devos end up with someone being disciplined at LEAST 90% of the time. 😉 But overall, bed time is our best chance. We typically read through various children’s bibles (Beginners Bible, The Big Picture Storybook Bible, Adventure Bible, and Jesus Storybook Bible). I haven’t heard of this one yet! More recently we’ve attempted to follow up the story bible by reading the same story from our family bible…although that is still hit or miss based on bedtime behavior. 🙂 They also LOVE memorizing scripture. Mommy needs to get better at feeding their love for that one though…

  2. In Sunday school, my children learn a verse from the bible, hear a story and typically do a craft. I take the most basic concept from that story and reinforce it throughout the entire week in real like situations. Like, “obey your leader” or “be a good neighbor.” It’s not much, but it seems to stick better than them memorizing scripture or learning more new concepts. I think it’s a success when I hear the kids telling each other to “remember to obey your leader, so that means no running to the claw machine.” Or ” your suppose to obey your leader so you better wait to get into the pool till mom says.” I give a lot of positive praise over the week when I see them doing what looks like the concept they learned. I think this book may be a good idea to help me expand on these concepts.

  3. I was going to buy this Bible after your recommendation but if I can win it….even better! 😉 We do bedtime devotions in our house. Some of our best conversations about God happen at bedtime….probably due to Violet’s attempt at prolonging the time before she has to go to sleep!

  4. Bible stories are our favorite way to talk about Jesus with our boys…frequently throughout the day, but always at bedtime! With two two-year-olds right now, we also have many opportunities to talk about Him as we correct behavior too 🙂

  5. We are still trying to figure this out! Reading short Bible stories with him, but also just praying with him- he can be bouncing off the walls at night and as soon as we start praying, he seems to calm down.

  6. Ladies, thanks for all of your comments and for sharing the ways that you are teaching your children about Jesus…even when it’s crazy and chaotic!! I LOVE your ideas and plan on stealing some from your playbooks! Oh, and this month’s randomly-selected winner is Joelle!

Leave a Reply

