Living Expectantly, Expectantly Living

As of late, I’ve started entering conversations with my four year-old in a state of expectancy.

“Why?” you ask.

Well, it’s certainly not because I’ve never heard him talk, or because I’m worried that he’s going to disclose that he’s four and in a dating relationship.

No, it’s simply because I’ve come to learn (over time and through many conversations with him), that I can expect to hear, learn, and receive something from the words he speaks.

So with my ears open, I come ready to hear with my heart…knowing all to well…that I often leave his presence challenged, convicted, and changed.

So, a few days ago, when we were talking about why Jesus died on the cross and what it means for us, I was “all ears.”

“Mommy, why did Jesus die on the cross for our sins?” 

“Well, why do you think He died?” 

“I think He died because we didn’t have another Rescuer.” 

What an interesting way to put it. What an insightful way to phrase it. What incredible words of wisdom!

And he is right…so very, very right.

There is only ONE who could rescue us from our sins and from our shame.

For Christ also died for sins once for all, the just for the unjust, in order that He might bring us to God, having been put to death in the flesh, but made alive in the spirit. 1 Peter 3:18

There is only ONE who could conquer death and defeat the grave.  

…who abolished death and brought life and immortality to light through the gospel. 2 Timothy 1:10 

There is only ONE who could make atonement for us and justify our transgressions. 

So then as through one transgression there resulted condemnation to all men, even so through one act of righteousness there resulted justification of life to all men. Romans 5:18

There is only ONE who could cancel our debt and render Satan powerless. 

Since then the children share in flesh and blood, He Himself likewise also partook of the same, that through death He might render powerless him who had the power of death, that is, the devil. Hebrews 2:14

There is only ONE who could reconcile us to God and grant us Heaven. 

…and through Him to reconcile all things to Himself, having made peace through the blood of His cross. Colossians 1:20

There is only ONE who could redeem us and thus fulfill prophecy. 

And I will pour on the house of David and on the inhabitants of Jerusalem the Spirit of grace and supplication; then they will look on Me whom they pierced. Zechariah 12:10

He died for our sins because He truly was and is our ONE AND ONLY RESCUER

Oh, son, how my ears rejoice in the Truth of your words!

And as I have thought about my son’s words over the past few days and contemplated the eager, expectant way in which I have begun to enter conversation with him, I am reminded that our ONE AND ONLY RESCUER desires the same of us.

See, if I can come into the presence of my fallen and finite four year-old (expecting to hear something, receive something, and learn something), how much MORE SO can I enter the presence of the ONE AND ONLY RESCUER, eagerly ready for Him to challenge my heart, convict my soul, and change my life? 

So, I ask myself…

As I open His Book and whisper His name, am I expecting to hear His voice?

As I sit in His presence and worship with His saints, am I anticipating His arrival?

As I follow His leading and respond to His commands, am I yearning to grow in His wisdom?

As I move through the moments of my days and the weeks of my years, am I longing to see His glory?

Am I living a life where my heart, soul, and mind are “all ears” for the ONE AND ONLY RESCUER?

Or…

Am I living complacently, refusing to make time to hear His Word and receive His Truths?

Am I living skeptically, believing He only reveals Himself to the “super-righteous” and the “extra-holy?”

Am I living angrily, adopting the lie that He’s not worth pursuing if He won’t grant my wants and answer my wishes?

Am I living indifferently, accepting that heaven is mine and grace abounds?

Am I living a life where my heart, soul, and mind are numb and blind to the ONE AND ONLY RESCUER

Oh, Lord, give me a desire to know you and a longing to hear your voice. 

Light a fire in my heart that yearns to see your glory and sense your presence.

Create a soul within me that diligently seeks your Word and awaits your wisdom.

And may I be found eagerly entering into regular conversation with you, expecting to leave your presence challenged, convicted, and changed by the words you speak. 

“But if from there you seek the Lord your God, you will find him if you seek him with all your heart and with all your soul.”Deuteronomy 4:29

“You, God, are my God, earnestly I seek you; I thirst for you, my whole being longs for you, in a dry and parched land where there is no water.” Psalm 63:1

001

One thought on “Living Expectantly, Expectantly Living

  1. So true. He IS our only Rescuer, and a majority of the time, I act like *I* am my rescuer. So….. “Oh, Lord, give me a desire to know you and a longing to hear your voice. Light a fire in my heart that yearns to see your glory and sense your presence. Create a soul within me that diligently seeks your Word and awaits your wisdom. And may I be found eagerly entering into regular conversation with you, expecting to leave your presence challenged, convicted, and changed by the words you speak.”

Leave a Reply

