Giving Away Food, Giving Away Love

For years, my mom has been using her kitchen to dish up love. 

Texas Potatoes, Broccoli Salad, Lasagna, Chicken-Noodle Casserole, Scalloped Potatoes, Linguine, John-Deere Casserole, Cedarville Corn, Rolls, Peanut Butter Fingers, Snickerdoodles, Pumpkin Cookies, Blueberry Buckle…you name it, and she’s made it.

And though I have no clue as to how many plates of cookies, bowls of salads, or 13×9 pans that have passed through her kitchen door and into the home of someone in need, I’m pretty sure it’s been a WHOLE-HEAPING-LOT.

Be it a new baby, an illness, the death of a loved one, or some other miscellaneous need, I have been watching my mom use her oven and cutting board to faithfully love and sacrificially serve others.

So this past month, when I was presented with the opportunity to make and take a weekly meal for a woman in need, I instinctively said, “Yes, sign me up.”

But why?

Is it because I’m inherently a good person? Not at all.

Is it because I prefer to love others by standing over a hot stove? Definitely not.

Is it because my mom and I are so alike? Nope.

Is it because I’m particularly close to this woman in need? No.

I simply said, “Yes,” because I’ve learned (from watching my mama) that loving others and serving Jesus sometimes looks like cooking a meal and making a dessert. 

Do not neglect to do good and to share what you have, for such sacrifices are pleasing to God. Hebrews 13:16

So what am I giving away for this month’s “Do-Good-Give-Away?”

I am giving away some love-filled food!

How? 

Well, I am going to give away two, $20 gift cards (to Kroger or Wal-Mart…your choice) to two, randomly selected winners to buy groceries.

For what? 

To make a meal for someone in need!

Oh, and for those two, randomly selected winners, I am also going to send them two, $15 gift cards to Chipotle.

Why?

Because after they’re done cooking a meal for someone else in need, they won’t want to cook their own! Oh, and because I love Chipotle!

How can you win? 

In the comment section below, share something you learned from you Mama, and on Friday (4 PM EST), I will select two, random winners!

And if you don’t win, can I still challenge you to go ahead and make a meal for someone in need?!?!  

Cheers to “Happy Meal-Making and Happy Love-Giving!”

IMG_2532[1]

10 thoughts on “Giving Away Food, Giving Away Love

  1. I learned how to be a strong, independent woman when I need to be. I lost my dad at an early age and from that moment my mom had to fill the father role and continue her role as a mother to 5. I’m sure she had her moments of weakness, but I rarely saw those.

  2. Mom also has cooked many meals, sides, or desserts for those in need. She has also taught me how to grow my own veggies and can. I LOVE canning with my mother. I seem to learn something new each time.

    I hope to pass these things along to my daughter….the things that have gotten lost in today’s selfish world.

  3. I learned that no matter what the circumstances, family should always come first. My Mom always made sure that we spent time with our family even if we had to walk there. There were times when she put us before herself, and looking back, there were meals she made and didn’t get to eat. Why? Because she knew we needed it. No matter what, she was there. I hope to pass the ability to love so deeply on to my own daughter.

  4. My mom taught me so many things but most importantly she taught me the importance of God and church. I am so thankful for that and happy to follow in her footsteps and teach my children all the things she taught me especially the importance of God and church. I hope I can be half the mother she was and that my children will arise up and call me blessed as I do her!

  5. I just discovered your blog, and I love your refreshing, honest posts! I learned responsibility and dedication to family from my mom. She was a superb homemaker and organizer (something I need to emulate more 😉 She also was always available to serve her family in various ways such as taking us to doctor’s appointments, caring for us when we were sick, home-schooling us, etc., etc. I appreciate her love and sacrifice that she has shown and continues to demonstrate.

  6. Lately, I have been thinking through exactly why I stay home as a mom. My mom always showed me the value of a stay at home mom. She modeled it. She did it because she thought that was what was best for us, specifically through our younger years. Not that it was more godly to stay home, but it was a practical way for her to pour into our lives. She taught me that it is always worth it.

  7. Thank you, ladies, for sharing your hearts and sharing what God has taught you through your mama’s! Oh, and thank you SO VERY MUCH for being women who have a desire to serve others; I am encouraged! So, without further ado, let me announce that Stephanie and Stacy are this month’s “Do-Good” winners!

Leave a Reply

