14 Things I am Celebrating this Mother’s Day

1. I am celebrating LOVE and the moments when GOD has graciously chosen to use me, a broken and busted soul, to love my His children in all of their sweetness and in all of their yuck. 

2. I am celebrating JOY and the moments when GOD has graciously shown me that true joy is knowing and following Him, rather than searching for an earthly happiness in who I am and what I do as a mother. 

3. I am celebrating PEACE and the moments when GOD has graciously given me His calm in the middle of sleepless nights, toddler tantrums, discipline dilemmas, and feeding conundrums. 

4. I am celebrating PATIENCE and the moments when GOD has graciously helped me extend grace and mercy to children who can be exhausting, whiny, overwhelming, and even undeserving at times. 

5. I am celebrating KINDNESS and the moments when GOD has graciously extended His loving-kindness toward this mama’s quick-tempered, easily-discouraged, ever-doubting, always-wanting-control soul. 

6. I am celebrating GOODNESS and the moments when GOD has graciously guided me in making godly parenting choices that honor Him and bring glory to His kingdom.   

7. I am celebrating FAITHFULNESS and the moments when GOD has graciously pursued me in the hours, days, and weeks when I wanted to give up, give in, and bow out of my mommy duties. 

8. I am celebrating GENTLENESS and the moments when GOD has graciously filled me with His words and given me His arms to calm and shepherd my His children. 

9. I am celebrating SELF-CONTROL and the moments when GOD has graciously stopped my tongue, slowed my response, and softened my irritated and angry heart. 

10. I am celebrating every gracious moment when GOD’S LIGHT has burned brighter and fiercer than mine ever could and ever should.

11. I am celebrating the moments when GOD has graciously used my mother to model and extend love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control to me.

12. I am celebrating the moments when GOD has graciously used my mother-in-love to model and extend love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control to my husband.

13. I am celebrating the moments when GOD has graciously used every other mother of every other soul that has ever touched my heart to model and extend love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control to their children.

14. I am celebrating HIM and HIS WORK; I am celebrating HIS FRUIT and HIS LIGHT; and I am celebrating HIS LOVE and HIS GIFTS that He has graciously shown and given to His children through the use of broken and imperfect mothers like me.

This Mother’s Day, THAT’S what I am celebrating.

017

One thought on “14 Things I am Celebrating this Mother’s Day

Leave a Reply

