Monday Morning Mama

Monday mornings are hard for me…like really hard.

The fun weekend plans are gone; my parenting partner has returned to work; and the break in routine has bid us a quick farewell.

It’s Monday morning, and I’m on my own again.

The chores, the errands, the “To-Do-List,” and the weekly routine has begun anew.

The changing of diapers, the juggling of lunch-making, the demands of playing, and the responsibility of discipline is back in my court.

The ball is bouncing; the opponents are pressing; and I’m no longer playing man to man defense. It’s Monday morning, and I’m back to zone defense, and this playa is tired.

Folks, the game of Monday is not nearly as exciting as the game of Saturday.

So when I heard the littlest awake with tears (approximately 45 minutes earlier than normal), and the eldest awoke in a foul mood, I was ready to throw in the towel, blow the whistle, and reschedule Monday’s game for this coming Saturday.

But as I was moping in the kitchen and dreading the day, the following verse kept repeating in my head:

“…as you did it to one of the least of these… you did it to me.” Matthew 25:40 

And though that is possibly one of the most peculiar phrases that has ever replayed in my head on a Monday morning, I’m absolutely confident that the Spirit knew that this mama’s heart needed to be reminded of those words.

Why?

Because on a Monday morning, I need to remember that as I…

fill cups and clean bums,

guide and give,

make sandwiches and dole out snacks,

discipline and develop,

deal with tears and tend to troubles,

pretend and play,

clean up messes and mediate frustrations,

teach and train,

read stories and roll on the floor,

cuddle and care,

love and labor,

sacrifice and share…

I do it unto Him. 

056

3 thoughts on “Monday Morning Mama

Leave a Reply

