Lovin’ on Our Missionaries: A Do-Good Give-Away

In the past week, we have received newsletters from two missionary families we know and support. As I read through their letters, hearing their stories, their struggles, and their victories, my heart was both challenged and encouraged.

These families have given up the familiar and comfortable to embrace the unfamiliar and the uncomfortable.

They have left their families, sold their belongings, and spent endless hours raising support and sharing their mission.

They have embraced new cultures, learned foreign languages, and joined unknown ministries.

They have learned from awkward situations, persevered through countless transitions, and been faced with their own weaknesses.

They have experienced seasons of loneliness, months of frustration, and moments of doubt.

They have been forced to relinquish control, let go of their plans, and yield their lives.

And for what crazy reason have they endured these things?

For opportunities to share the Good News and grow His Kingdom! 

Caden recently committed to memory Romans 10:15.

How beautiful are the feet of those who preach the good news!

I’ve heard this verse more times than I can count, but last week I was struck by the adjective that Paul used to describe the feet of those who preach the good news.

During a time when indoor plumbing was not an option and people wore sandals on the dusty, dirty streets, I’m not so sure that “beautiful” would have been the adjective Paul would have chosen to describe an everyday pair of feet.

Filthy,

Gross,

Stinky,

Gnarled,

Mangled,

Moist, and

Weird-looking

could have very-well passed as accurate descriptors for the feet that walked alongside Paul.

But when Paul looked upon the feet of those who preached the good news, he saw something entirely different.

He saw beauty. 

Because Paul knew that the Good News of God’s Kingdom was a BEAUTIFUL thing–something that had changed his life upside down and inside out.

So for this month’s “do-good” giveaway, I want to celebrate the beautiful feet of those who struggle and sacrifice to carry the Good News!

So what am I giving away this month? 

I am giving away a $50.00 Target gift card for you to create a care package to send to a missionary whose “feet” might need some Tender-Loving-Care.

Oh, and since I know this will take a little effort on your part, I’ll be including a $5 Starbuck’s gift card to help fuel your tank!

How can you win? 

In the comment section below, share a recent blessing and on Sunday at 4:00 PM (EST), I will randomly select a winner.

Oh, and if you don’t win, why not reach out (in your own, kind way) and care for the “feet” of those who are working to preach the Good News?

feet

 

5 thoughts on “Lovin’ on Our Missionaries: A Do-Good Give-Away

  1. I’m thankful that I was able to make it to NH for my uncle’s funeral and see many relatives I barely ever see. Of course I wish God would have chosen to give him more time on this earth, but I rejoice that He left such a godly legacy and is eternally healed now!

  2. A weekend away spending time with Family celebrating the future arrival of another baby (sister-in law) baby into our family!

  3. I missed this but wanted to comment. Its been an ongoing blessing since October…..we’ve been blessed by my sister in law allowing us to use her washer and dryer weekly. We still don’t have our well fixed so we use water sparingly. It gives me a SLIGHT glimpse into what its like to not have water at all.

Leave a Reply

