Lies from the Pits of Hell

If I earned $1 for every “Distorted Mom Thought” I had about myself, there would be no need to start college funds for either of our children because I’d have it covered…more than covered.

So what is my definition of a “Distorted Mom Thought?”

Well, it’s pretty much any thought that we have about ourselves (and our roles as moms) that is twisted, misshapen, inaccurate, or untrue.

Let me share just a few…

If my children are unhappy, I’m a mean mom.

If I allow my children to watch television, I’m a bad mom.

If I’m not doing pre-school activities with my son, I’m an unintentional mom.

If I’m not spending a majority of my day playing with my kids, I’m not an engaged mom.

If I want to work and not stay at home, I’m an unwise mom.

If I make time for me, I’m a selfish mom.

If I have a bad day and yell, I’m a terrible mom.

If I cry and tell my husband that being a mom is hard, I’m a weak mom.

If my children act out, I’m an out-of-control mom.

If I have expectations for my children that my friends don’t, I’m a too-tough mom.

If I’m not a super scheduled mom, then I’m a failing mom.

If I don’t closely monitor their sugar intake, I’m an irresponsible mom.

If I plan birthday parties and do Pinterest crafts, I’m a too-much mom.

If I’m not taking my kids places and doing creative stuff, I’m a lazy mom.

If I don’t love every minute of every day with my children, I’m an ungrateful mom.

Oh, and those are just my “Distorted Mom Thoughts,” need I mention the plethora of distortions that fall under the categories of “Distorted Wife Thoughts,” “Distorted Friend Thoughts,” “Distorted Blogger Thoughts,” “Distorted Christian Thoughts,” and “Distorted Miscellaneous Thoughts???”

Satan loves this distorted stuff.

In fact, I’m pretty sure he thrives on this stuff, like BIG TIME.

And why wouldn’t he?

He was the first distorter of Truth. 

But the serpent said to the woman, ‘You will not surely die. For God knows that when you eat of it your eyes will be opened, and you will be like God, knowing good and evil.’ Genesis 3:4-6 

He is the father of lies.

He was a murderer from the beginning, and does not stand in the truth, because there is no truth in him. When he lies, he speaks out of his own character, for he is a liar and the father of lies. John 8:44

He is an accuser.

…for the accuser of our brothers has been thrown down, who accuses them day and night before our God. Revelation 12:10

He is our adversary. 

Your adversary the devil prowls around like a roaring lion, seeking someone to devour. 1 Peter 5:8

And if this distorting, lying, accusing adversary can tempt us moms children of God into believing twisted, misshapen, inaccurate, and untrue lies straight from the pits of hell, then he’s got a foothold in our hearts and in our homes. 

Footholds of doubt.

Footholds of fear.

Footholds of comparison.

Footholds of discontentment.

Footholds of shame.

Footholds of insecurity.

Footholds of isolation.

Footholds of confusion.

Footholds of condemnation.

Footholds of idolatry.

Footholds that draw our focus to us and our circumstances.

Footholds that direct our attention to our abilities and our weaknesses.

Footholds that distract us from God’s holy work in us.

Footholds that demean God’s preeminent presence in our lives.

Footholds that detract from His great glory.

Because though that ‘ol snake already knows who wins the final battle, he’s not goin’ down without a glory-stealin’ fight, and we shouldn’t either. 

So what do we do when the adversary attacks and accuses?

Where do we turn when the distortions are bewildering and the lies extra heavy?

We run hard, and we run fast, and we run straight for His arms.

And when we reach the safety of the Savior’s arms, we fling those lies, those distortions, and those accusations right at His feet, and we let HIM fight. 

For the Lord will be your confidence, and will keep your foot from being caught. Proverbs 3:26

For I will contend with him who contends with you. Isaiah 49:25

But the Lord is faithful, who will establish you and guard you from the evil one. 2 Thessalonians 3:3

Surely He shall deliver you from the snare of the fowler and from the perilous pestilence. He shall cover you with His feather, and under His wings you shall take refuge; His truth shall be your shield and buckler. Psalm 91:3-4

And the Lord will deliver me from every evil work and preserve me for His heavenly kingdom. 2 Timothy 4:18

Who is my adversary? Let him come near me. Surely the Lord God will help me; who is he who will condemn me? Isaiah 50:7

When the enemy comes in like a flood, the Spirit of the Lord will lift up a standard against him. Isaiah 59:19

No power of hell, no scheme of man,
Can ever pluck me from His hand;
Till He returns or calls me home,
Here in the power of Christ I’ll stand.

Owl City, In Christ Alone 

011

4 thoughts on “Lies from the Pits of Hell

  1. First, I love that song (“In Christ Alone”). Secondly, it’s a great reminder to recognize distortions as lies whispered by satan to give him footholds into our hearts. Here’s to recognizing his role in those lies and fleeing to the safety of the Lord when they start spinning around in our heads!

Leave a Reply

