A Whispered Song from Jesus

Our hot mess of 17 pounds and 11 ounces had just received her 12-month shots and was clinging to my neck like a cat that had just been sentenced to a lifetime of baths.

And as I stood in that teeny-tiny, lava-hot room (along with oh, say…about probably 17 million germs that likely thrive in small, lava-hot environments), I was attempting to soothe our cat babe.

She was tired (no joke…we had been there for over an hour at that point); she was hurting (she had just been stuck four times by a stranger with a needle); she was mad (because that kinda happens when you’ve been waiting a really long time, missed your morning nap, and been stuck with multiple, sharp objects); and she was scared (hence the aforementioned neck clinging).

And in that span of two minutes after she had received her shots of trauma, I had exhausted my entire arsenal of soothing techniques to no avail.

The “frantic back rub”…fail.

The “gentle sh-sh-shooshing”…fail. 

The “crooned reassurances”…fail.

The “swaying back and forth”…fail.

The “bouncing up and down”…fail. 

The “random toy at the bottom of the diaper bag”…fail. 

I had tried it all and absolutely nothing was bringing any kind of calm to our sweltering situation.

She was still sobbing…I was still sweating…and we were still waiting (this time, for a finger prick to verify that our child hasn’t eaten any lead pencils or swallowed any anemia) when her little brother (the one who had just absorbed a large dose of second-hand trauma) piped up with a new, soothing suggestion. 

“Mommy, I think we should sing her a song.” 

Fairly convinced that none of us would be soothed by a sweating mother who sings the ABC’s in 26 keys, yet willing to try anything to bring tranquility to our sad sauna, I said, “Sure, buddy. What do you think we should sing?”

And then out of nowhere, kinda like the time he sang a “song for Jesus,” he started singing…

Jesus loves you…

And He knows us…

And He knows when we’re afraid…

And again…

Jesus loves you…

And He knows us…

And He knows when we’re afraid… 

And again…

Jesus loves you…

And He knows us…

And He knows when we’re afraid… 

And before I knew it, the baby was quiet and the mama was crying.

People, I can’t make this stuff up (well, I mean…I guess I could, but I don’t…I promise)!!

WHERE on earth did he get such comforting lyrics and WHO on earth is the mother of this baby-whispering minstrel?!?!

Not knowing the difference between beads of sweat and trickles of tears, I wiped my cheeks and said, “Buddy, that was so sweet and so kind. Thank you for singing that.”

And then I asked the question I had really been wondering, “Caden, where did you get that song?”

“Oh, I don’t know. I’ve never sung it before.” 

Call me bonkers, batty, or even barmy, but I am convinced that Jesus whispered those sweet lyrics right into the soul of my little boy.

Why?

Because even though she doesn’t know Him yet, Jesus loves our little girl with a “never stopping, never giving up, unbreaking, always and forever love” (Sally Lloyd Jones, The Jesus Storybook Bible) and wanted to bring her some much-needed tender, loving calm. 

Caden’s timely lullaby was more than precious, it was theologically sound…

Jesus loves you…

We love because he first loved us. 1 John 4:19

And He knows us…

But the very hairs of your head are all numbered. Matthew 10:30

And He knows when we’re afraid…

For I, the Lord your God, hold your right hand; it is I who say to you, ‘Fear not, I am the one who helps you.’ Isaiah 41:13

And though my flesh would never wish for another morning of tiny, hot rooms and a crying, scared babe, I am thankful for the many ways that the Lord uses the unlovely and the unpleasant to reveal Himself and His great love for us. 

Oh, and I’ll let you guess what we played the rest of the afternoon while his sister slept off her traumatic morning…

036

2 thoughts on “A Whispered Song from Jesus

Leave a Reply

