Take Up Your Mommy Cross

If I’m being honest, sometimes I really don’t feel like being a Mommy.

What did she say???

I know, I know…[GASP, GASP]…[SHOCK, SHOCK]…

I said it, and I mean it.

Being a Mommy is hard, and I don’t always feel like doing hard. 

It’s hard choosing selflessness

I don’t always want to stop reading my book and find the missing mask in the toy box.

I don’t always want to put my conversation on hold and wipe the stinky bum.

I don’t always  want to take a break from my writing and replace the fire truck’s batteries.

I don’t always want to get up from my breakfast plate and tie the cape.

I don’t always want to stop drinking my coffee and refill the juice cup.

I don’t always want to postpone my “to-do” list and respond to the whining.

Because sometimes…I just really don’t feel like being selfless. 

It’s hard being a servant

I don’t always want to pick up the stray peas and the smashed grapes.

I don’t always want to wash the poop-stained onesies and the grass-stained pants.

I don’t always want to wipe up the potty spills and the snotty noses.

I don’t always want to pack the random toys and the emergency water.

I don’t always want to answer the nap time cries and the bed time pleas.

I don’t always want to fix the hourly crisis and the sharing dilemma.

Because sometimes…I just really don’t feel like being a servant.

It’s hard making sacrifices

I don’t always want to rearrange our plans for naps and snacks.

I don’t always want to stop conversation to discipline and teach.

I don’t always want to leave early to bathe and feed.

I don’t always want to cancel for germs and attitudes.

I don’t always want to lose sleep to soothe and rock.

I don’t always want to give of me to care and love.

Because sometimes…I just really don’t feel like making sacrifices. 

Why?

Well, because a lot of times…I don’t always feel like denying myself and following Jesus’ example. 

Have this attitude in yourselves which was also in Christ Jesus, who, although He existed in the form of God, did not regard equality with God a thing to be grasped, but emptied Himself, taking the form of a bond-servant, and being made in the likeness of men. Philippians 2:5-8

For even the Son of Man did not come to be served, but to serve, and to give His life a ransom for many. Mark 10:45

If anyone would come after me, let him deny himself and take up his cross and follow me. Matthew 16:24 

It’s hardly easy, and it’s hardly comfortable, but we are called to follow His example and walk in His footsteps.

And though He has not asked us to carry a cross of death (because only He could), He has asked us to carry our daily crosses (mommies or not), share in His sufferings, and rejoice in our opportunities to be more like Him. 

But rejoice insofar as you share Christ’s sufferings… 1 Peter 4:13

Though I still find it incredibly hard to choose the way of a selfless, sacrificing servant, and I hardly do it well, I rejoice in knowing that I have daily opportunities to follow His example and share in His sufferings.

016

3 thoughts on “Take Up Your Mommy Cross

  1. Parenting requires so much sacrifice; it’s a very powerful analogy to the sacrifices the Lord makes as He parents us. I’m thankful for your sacrifice, and though your kids are still a bit too little to really grasp it, those around you do. Thank you for your sacrifices to raise these little ones up in the way the Lord will desire for them to go. Thank you for putting their needs first, especially on days where that is hardest. Love you, friend!

Leave a Reply

