Keeping Them Alive

It’s rather embarrassing to admit, but sometimes I fear that I’m going to hurt my children.

But wait a minute! Before you run to find the number for CPS, call my husband to report my scary blog post, or unsubscribe from this blog, please let me explain myself.

In this past week, Evie has choked on a blueberry the size of her eye (that I absentmindedly gave her), almost fallen down an entire flight of stairs (that I neglected to properly gate while dealing with a Super Hero crisis), and eaten a googly eye from a library craft (while my back was turned).

Thankfully, she hacked up the round piece of fruit, only fell down one of the stairs after smashing her face on the slate-floor landing (that leads to 10 more stairs), and managed to swallow and pass the weird-looking eye.

SERIOUSLY!?!?  IN ONE WEEK!?!?

And for those of you who haven’t already moved on and dubbed me the “World’s-Most-Inattentive-and-Irresponsible Mother” and are graciously wanting to let me off the “poor parenting hook,” let me also divulge that Caden (a smidge over 12 months) DID fall down an entire flight of stairs (while I was not looking), fell off a booster chair (that I had incorrectly fastened), choked on a chip from Qdoba (that I gave him), and smashed his fingers in the door (while I was chatting with a friend). And YES…all four of these events occurred within the SAME WEEK and under my watchful careless eye.

HOW ARE THEY STILL ALIVE!?!?

As I pondered that anxiety-producing question earlier this week, while rocking my baby (the one with the face bruise) and simultaneously shaming myself for these recent (and past) mishaps, I was humbly reminded that not only do I not hold the title of “Need Meeter,” but I also do not carry the title of “Life Sustainer.”

Jessica, what does Evie’s name mean? 

Life.

And who created Evie and gave her life? 

You.

And who will continue to sustain Evie’s life?

You.

And if you did not create Evie’s life, do you really think you can thwart my plans for her life? 

Uh…umm…no.

The point was made, and the point was received.

He created life and nothing (apart from His plans and His permission) can ever thwart the life He created. 

This certainly doesn’t mean that I don’t have a responsibility to cover the outlet plugs, secure the toxins, close the front door, cut the blueberries, fasten the straps, scan the floors, run the vacuum, hide the googly eyes, and use my God-given brain to care for these created souls, because I most certainly DO.

BUT…

I do not need to live in angsty fear that I am going to carelessly, haphazardly, absentmindedly, stupidly, and unintentionally do (or not do) something that will thwart the plans that God has already laid out for my children’s lives.

I can’t hinder His all-knowing will. 

But our God is in the heavens; He does whatever He pleases. Psalm 115:3

I can’t thwart His intended purposes. 

My purpose will be established, and I will accomplish all My good pleasure. Isaiah 46:10

I can’t change His perfect plans. 

I know that You can do all things, And that no purpose of Yours can be thwarted. Job 42:2

I can’t alter His already-recorded arrangements. 

Every day of my life was recorded in your book. Every moment was laid out before a single day had passed. Psalm 139:16

And though He calls us to participate in His works and care for His creations, He holds the plans; He calls the shots; and He carries out His perfect will. 

Rest easy, Mama. Not only is the Lord sitting on His loving throne, holding their lives in the palm of His faithful, loving, and mighty hands, but He also thought ahead and made them of cartilage.

005

3 thoughts on “Keeping Them Alive

  1. It is amazing, as the mother of 3 adults, to look back and wonder how they all survived their childhood. No question but that rolls of bubble wrap would have been a good investment for my very active children! I can count surgeries, but only God knows the numbers of stitches and concussions!

  2. Thankful for how you faithfully remember that you have been given the privilege of parenting them, but it is their Heavenly Father who ultimately determines the course of their lives. You absolutely cannot thwart the will and plan of their Abba. It’s a sobering thought, and I bet it’s also often a comforting one. Love you!

Leave a comment