“Daddy Don”

As I was dry-heaving in our bedroom while my husband leaned over a puke-strewn crib and removed the foul-smelling bedding from the puke fest that hit our home yesterday, I found myself spraying air freshener and mentally listing the many things that my children enjoy because of their daddy.

Hot dogs…

This will never be my preferred meat choice…EVER, but Daddy loves them.

Safety…

Plug covers, straps, buckles, gates, guards, clips…I think he keeps a stash in his back pocket.

On-Tune Singing…

I sing the ‘ABC’s in 26 keys, but not Daddy…his sounds normal.

Regular baths…

Don’t judge. I lose track of the days.

An example of self-regulation…

A handful of Dortitos or an entire bag? Hmmm…thank goodness for Daddy.

Hot Sauce…

Fire on my tongue does not appeal to me, but I know a little boy who thinks it’s fun to have a lick of Daddy’s red sauce.

Artistic Drawings…

Daddy draws a horse and it looks like a horse, not a blob with disproportionate limbs.

Homemade toys…

A numb-chuck holder with rope and paper towel tubes?!?! REALLY!? How does he do it?

Mouthfuls of Reddi Whip…

I’m pretty confident that it would have never dawned on me to spray whipped topping from an aerosol can into the mouth of our children, but they love it when Daddy screams, “Ready, Aim, Fire!!”

Silence…

Ummm…yeah.

A clean shower…

People, my arms are short!

An example of logic…

Apparently, there’s more to life than emotions???

A car that runs…

Gas? Oil Changes? Brakes? Rotated Tires? Daddy is on top of it all.

Smoked meat…

I can barely light a candle without 2nd degree burns, but Daddy can man a grill all day long without any war wounds.

Vitamins…

My #1 priority in the morning is coffee, not stinky chewables for the littles.

Consistent bed times…

When you want to spontaneously do something at t 8:07 PM every night, Daddy reminds us that freedom bed time is calling. 

S’mores (not on fire)…

Daddy can patiently wait for the perfectly toasted marshmallow. To me, NO piece of dessert is EVER worth cramped arms and fire on the forehead. 

A model of patience…

Apparently, some souls have slow fuses, kinda like crock pots. I, on the other hand, operate like a microwave. Thank goodness for daddy.

Manuals…

Too many words, too many diagrams, too much patience required (see above) …”pre-assembled” is my middle name. Thank goodness for Daddy because nothing in our house would be assembled correctly, and no appliance, toy, or product would ever be properly “registered” with its maker.

Sewn clothes…

When the button goes or the pants tear, it’s Daddy who does the mending because I’m ready to hit up Target.

Maps…

Like manuals, maps are overwhelming to me. “Walk until you feel lost and then ask some kind-looking soul (like Daddy) who is holding a map and has a clue” is my mantra.

A model of consistent perseverance…

When the goin’ gets tough, this mama often bails, but not Daddy. “Steady” is his middle name.

Baked goods…

I realize that “Betty Crocker” is a woman, but she certainly isn’t me. Bread, biscuits, pancakes, soft pretzels, pizza, cookies… you name it, Daddy bakes it!

A stocking of necessities…

Toilet paper, batteries, bread, ant traps, bathroom cleaner…he’s on it, and we have it.

A model of godly manliness…

Integrity and toughness, purity and passion, wisdom and confidence, respect and responsibility, love and gentleness, compassion and courage…that is “Daddy Don.”

Oh, and another thing. If it weren’t for Daddy’s long-suffering, gracious spirit, we NEVER would have made it through our first roller skating attempt. I’m fairly confident that this Mama could’t have and wouldn’t have spent three, whole hours shuffling on four, tiny wheels.

Our kids are blessed. 

065

6 thoughts on ““Daddy Don”

  1. Dear Jessica, your well worded words regarding your precious husband could not be more true of our son. Thank you for sharing your thoughts for you surely warmed this mama’s heart. You are so blessed to have him for your husband and your children are so blessed to have him for a daddy and he is so very blessed to have you for his precious wife!!! May the Lord continually protect and bless your beautiful family.

  2. I love it Jess. You have honored Don by writing all of this! Beautiful! Oh and guess what, we have one more thing in common. Shooting the WHIP CREAM into our child’s mouth from a can! So fun! 🙂

    Jenna

  3. Love that man! SO thankful to know my dear friend and those sweet kiddos have such a wise, steady, available, intentional, godly man to do life with daily.

Leave a Reply

