“Is There Any Answer?”

More mornings than not, I hear the following pleas (in just about the same order) emerge from the speaker of our little, white monitor:

“Mommy!?”

“Where are you?”

“I WANT MY MOMMY!!!!”

s  i  l  e  n  c  e

“Is there any answer?”

So why don’t I instantaneously respond to these morning entreaties to retrieve my boy from his bunk?

Is it because I can’t hear him? No.

Is it because I have forgotten about the boy in the bunk? No

Is it because I don’t love the boy in the bunk? No.

Is it because I don’t want to help the boy in the bunk? No.

Is it because I’m not able to answer the boy in the bunk? No.

Is it because I left the house? No.

No, no, no, no, no, and NO.

Though there are a myriad of reasons (on a given day and in a given week) for why I don’t always instantaneously respond to his calls for help, suffice to say, I love my boy; I hear my boy; and I have my reasons for his wait. 

Since these monitor petitions have become quite commonplace (as my boy has become more adept at using his words and asserting his voice), I’ve started to see a pattern to these morning petitions.

A simple utter: “Mommy!?”

A question: “Where are you?”

An impatient shout: “I WANT MY MOMMY!!!”

Silence

A doubting question: “Is there any answer?”

And as I’ve reflected on this pattern in my son’s calls for help, I see a shocking resemblance in how I, too, can call for God’s help.

I start with a simple utter:  “Lord, please _____.”

And when He doesn’t always answer…

I then ask a question: “God, what are you doing with _____?”

And when I feel like He isn’t responding with the answer I want and in the timeline I want…

I sometimes give an impatient shout: “Lord! I REALLY need _____!”

And when He doesn’t answer… I sometimes grow silent and stop talking to Him. 

But when I’ve had enough with the silence…

I sometimes return with a doubting question: “Do you even hear me, Lord?”

“Is there any answer?” 

And I imagine that Caden and I are not alone in our question-asking.

The barren woman…“Is there any answer?” 

The cancer patient…“Is there any answer?” 

The job-seeking professional…“Is there any answer?” 

The overwhelmed mama…“Is there any answer?” 

The anxious soul…“Is there any answer?” 

The eager missionary…“Is there any answer?” 

The single woman…“Is there any answer?” 

The doubting skeptic…“Is there any answer?” 

The worried provider…“Is there any answer?” 

The lonely friend…“Is there any answer?” 

The burdened heart…“Is there any answer?” 

The fearful mind…“Is there any answer?” 

The angry wife…“Is there any answer?” 

The forgotten child…“Is there any answer?” 

The mistrusting wounded…“Is there any answer?” 

The bored housewife…“Is there any answer?” 

The grieving family member…“Is there any answer?” 

Does He not hear us? No. 

In my distress I called upon the LORD; to my God I cried for help. From His temple he heard my voice, and my cry to Him reached his ears. Psalm 18:6

Has He forgotten about us? No. 

Can a woman forget her nursing child, that she should have no compassion on the son of her womb? Even these may forget, yet I will not forget you. Isaiah 49:15

Does He not love us? No. 

Casting all your anxieties on him, because He cares for you. 1 Peter 5:7

Does He not want to help us? No. 

I lift up my eyes to the hills. From where does my help come? My help comes from the Lordwho made heaven and earth. He will not let your foot be moved; He who keeps you will not slumber. Psalm 121: 1-3

Is He not capable of answering us? No. 

Fear not, for I am with you;  be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you,  I will uphold you with my righteous right hand. Isaiah 41:10

Is it because He left His throne? No. 

The LORD has established His throne in the heavens, And His sovereignty rules over all. Psalm 103:19

No, no, no, no, no, and NO.

He loves us; He hears us; and though we may not like, share, or understand His reasons for His silence, He has His reasons. 

And in the end, if He never gives us the answer we want, in the the time frame we want it, it’s not really about the answer we seek.

It’s about who we are seeking.

Sure, my son cries over the monitor for an answer, but he doesn’t just need a “yes” or “no”…what he really needs is ME.

Oh, Lord, as I bring my petitions before you, help me to seek more than just an answer. Help me seek YOU, which is way better than any earthly answer I will ever seek. 

060

2 thoughts on ““Is There Any Answer?”

  1. What lovely vulnerability there is in this post. We all cry out for answers, and it’s an act of faith to trust that our cries are heard, even if not always directly answered. God hears us, and I am thankful that as we develop into adult children of His, He helps us grow in our understanding that answers do not equate love, and silence does not equate forgotten. He loves us even when He doesn’t explain Himself. And when we can separate His answers from Him, we grow in our ability to love Him even more.

Leave a Reply

