A Good News Give-Away

It’s December 26th, and my son is bummed.

Though he’s only a wee 3 1/2, he knows that the day after Christmas is slightly anti-climactic, and no one had to tell him.

Upon waking this morning, the following exchange happened before I even reached his bunk:

C: Mommy, is it still Christmas?

M: No, buddy. It’s not.

C: But I want it to still be Christmas.

M: I know; me too. But guess what? When we know Jesus, there’s more good news coming! 

C: What?

M: Jesus is coming back to get us!

C: (Silence and puzzled look)

M: When we know Jesus, we can start counting down the days until He comes again! He came as a baby the first time, but He’s coming as a KING the second time! Isn’t that great!?!?!

C: Umm…did you leave my planes out?

I know my December 26th answer disappointed him and obviously confused him, but it’s true!

The good news of Christmas is hardly over!

Do not let your hearts be troubled. Trust in God; trust also in me. In my Father’s house are many rooms; if it were not so, I would have told you. I am going there to prepare a place for you. And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am. John 14: 1-3

Behold, I am coming soonRevelation 22: 12

So, in order to celebrate this good news, my “do-good-give-away” for December will involve the Gospel (the very best news EVER)!!

So what’s the give-away this month?

I will be giving away THREE copies of one of my favorites, The Jesus Storybook Bible

IMG_9661

I realize this book is targeted for a younger audience, but I can’t tell you how many times the Lord has used Sally Lloyd Jones’ retelling of the good news to grab my heart and remind me of Truth. Oh, and Caden loves it, too!

So how can you win a copy?

In the comment section below, share your favorite Christmas gift that you GAVE and on Monday morning, I will randomly choose three winners! 

Oh, and even if you have a copy, win and give it away to someone who doesn’t! We ALL need the GOOD NEWS, right!?

8 thoughts on “A Good News Give-Away

  1. I realize that I might be disqualified from the give-away for this because I can’t pick just one, but that’s the truth, so I’ll submit this anyway. 🙂 This year resulted in a three-way tie: a photo book of our Disney trip in June (for my mom and sister), a calendar of pictures of Hannah (for my parents and sister), and an American Girl doll gymnastics set for Hannah. Hannah has been asking for that gift for a year, so it was special to be able to give it to her. But my parents and sister are always so excited and thankful for the personalized gifts that it’s very meaningful to be able to give those to them. So there you go: a three-way tie that made giving more than fun than receiving this year!

  2. Aww, that little guy! I think it’s so neat that despite the unexpected challenges your family faced this past week, he still thought Christmas was special. You and Don kept the Christmas message the “main thing” even when faced with trials.
    We haven’t had our families’ Christmases yet, so I won’t comment on gifts I’m giving this year (in case they see this), but my favorite Christmas gift I gave a few years ago was a DVD of our family’s picture slides from 1976-1995. We don’t have many photographs from those years because my parents developed their film into slides, so I had the slides transferred to jpg’s, organized them by date, and put them to music in a video.

  3. It was the year of scarfs … I made my sister and sisters in laws scarfs and crocheted scarfs for both of my nieces! Even though joe is not a fan of my craftiness at Christmas (adds stress!) he still supports and encourages me through the process- which meant wrapping gifts while I crocheted this year 🙂

  4. This isn’t what I gave, but it made all presents pale in comparison: My sister told us she’s having her first baby a month after we have our second! Best Christmas gift of the day, hands down. If I win this book, it’ll be one of my shower gifts to her.

Leave a Reply

