“Yeah, I Was Just Singin’ a Song for Jesus.”

We hardly EVER hear him sing, so I was shocked when he stood on the dining room chair this past week and loudly announced, “I have a song to sing.”

WHAT!?!? Are you serious?

The kid who could care less about singing his “ABC’s”  wants to sing a song?

The kid who can barely make it through “The Itsy Bitsy Spider” at story hour wants to hum me a number?

The kid who would rather have his toenails clipped than sing “Twinkle, Twinkle” wants to croon me a tune?

You’ve got to be kidding me! This should be good. 

And then, in a clear and confident voice, he sang the following:

You are God and Jesus.

You are so powerful.

We worship you.

And you love us. 

You sent your Son to rescue our sins. 

And you protect us. 

We worship you. 

You give us so many promises.

And they all come back to us.

Whoa! A worship song from the little boy standing on the dining room chair who doesn’t like to sing?!? A song that made sense? A song that had depth? I can think of about a million other things that might have come forth, but this was CERTAINLY not it. 

I stood there shocked. Did this just happen? 

I knew I should be providing affirmation for this sweet song of adoration, but my mouth just wouldn’t move.

This Mama was mum.

And though I had nothing to say, my mind yelled, “RUN TO THE KITCHEN AND FIND SOME PAPER!!”

And when I had finally transcribed the lyrics on the back of a crinkled grocery receipt, I looked up and exclaimed (to the boy who was still standing on the chair), “Buddy! Wow!! That was really amazing!!!”

Nonchalantly, he responded, “Yeah, I was just singin’ a song for Jesus.” 

He didn’t want to talk further about his lyrical performance, and he certainly wasn’t interested in replicating it, but my mind couldn’t let go of it.

Looking back over the lyrics to his song, I was drawn to the last two lines.

You give us so many promises.

And they all come back to us.

And as I thought on the TRUTH of those two lines, I was overwhelmed by the following thought:

I may not always see His hand, feel His presence, or hear His voice, but I serve a promise-keeping God! 

Though I struggle, He is faithful. 

…He remains faithful— for He cannot deny Himself. 2 Timothy 2:13

Though I doubt, His works are faithful. 

For the word of the Lord is upright, and all His work is done in faithfulness. Psalm 33:4

Though I question, His words can be trusted. 

The works of his hands are faithful and just; all his precepts are trustworthy; they are established forever and ever, to be performed with faithfulness and uprightness. He sent redemption to his people; he has commanded his covenant forever. Holy and awesome is his name! Psalm 111: 7-9

Though I waver, His words are forever. 

Heaven and earth will pass away, but my words will not pass away. Matthew 24:35 

Though I wonder, He doesn’t go back on His word. 

God is not man, that he should lie, or a son of man, that he should change his mind. Has he said, and will he not do it? Or has he spoken, and will he not fulfill it. Numbers 23:19 

Though I forget, He remembers forever. 

Know therefore that the Lord your God is God, the faithful God who keeps covenant and steadfast love with those who love him and keep his commandments, to a thousand generations. Deuteronomy 7:9 

And if He is a faithful, trustworthy, ever-remembering God who means what He says, then yes, yes Caden…all His promises (and there are many) will come back to me. 

004

One thought on ““Yeah, I Was Just Singin’ a Song for Jesus.”

Leave a Reply

