Does She REALLY Know Her Name?

“Evie Rae!” 

Sparkly eyes and a crinkly nose, she turns her head.

She knows her name. 

“Where’s Evie?” 

A raspy giggle and an open-mouthed smile, she looks.

She knows her name. 

“Evie-girl!”

Grinning and rolling, she moves toward the sound.

She knows her name. 

And as her Mama, there’s something delightfully sweet and entirely precious about this milestone.

Why? Well, two reasons come to this Mama’s mind.

1. I named her. 

Evie: life

Before I ever saw her sea-blue eyes, heard her soft, whimpering cry, or touched her tiny, formed toes, I chose her name and called her by name.

I prayed for Evie; I dreamed about Evie; I talked about EvieI worried about Evie; I planned for Evie; and I cried over Evie.

I wasn’t just thinking about any baby; I was thinking about Evie. 

2. She bears my name.  

Jessica Rae, Evie Rae.

Rae: grace 

Though she is not me, she bears part of me. And for my sentimental soul, that’s just a “yittle bit” (in the words of my big boy) special.

There’s no doubting it, our girl knows her name.

But does she really know her name? The significance of it? The meaning behind the syllables?

Well…no. She doesn’t.

And as I was recently thinking about this, I found my heart pondering some similar questions:

Sure, Jessica,  you know the sound of your name, too, but do you really know what your name means? 

Do you remember that before the world knew you as ‘Jessica Rae,’ He knew you by name? 

For you formed my inward parts; you knitted me together in my mother’s womb. My frame was not hidden from you, when I was being made in secret, intricately woven in the depths of the earth. Your eyes saw my unformed substance; in your book were written, every one of them, the days that were formed for me, when as yet there was none of them. –Psalm 139: 13, 15-16 

Do you remember that upon accepting Him and His gift of salvation, you were given some new names? 

You are now Chosen, Holy, and Beloved.

You are now Redeemed, Adopted, and Complete.

You are now Heir with Christ, Citizen of Heaven, and Partaker of His Promises. 

You are now His Workmanship, His Temple, and His Disciple. 

You are now a Child of God. 

You are His. 

And do you remember that because you are His, you bear His name? 

A CHRISTian, a CHRIST-follower.

There’s no doubting it; you know your name. But do you really understand the significance of your name?

Do you truly grasp the enormity of your name because of whose you are?

And do you live in such a way that demonstrates that you really, really know your name? 

Jessica: rich

Rae: grace 

Oh, Jessica! You are truly “rich in grace,” SO LIVE LIKE YOU KNOW YOUR NAME!

002

 

Leave a Reply

