A Mommy in Need of a Manger

Today, when I forget and fake the mess, I will look to the manger. 

Today, when I doubt and discouragement is near, I will look to the manger.

Today, when I fail and fall terribly short, I will look to the manger. 

Today, when I cry and count my hurts, I will look to the manger. 

Today, when I struggle and strain to maintain, I will look to the manger.

Today, when I whine and want my way, I will look to the manger. 

Today, when I am tired and tempted to compare, I will look to the manger.  

Today, when I lose my way and wobble in worry, I will look to the manger.

Today, when I lack the love and loathe the wait, I will look to the manger.

Today, when I am lonely and long for more, I will look to the manger. 

And today, when I look to the manger, I will find the baby.

I will find the baby who experienced my doubts, my discouragements, and fears.

I will find the baby who healed my failures, my hurts, and tears.

I will find the baby who redeemed my struggles, my strains, and smears.

I will find the baby who conquered my load, my temptations, and sneers.

I will find the baby who rescued my way, my loneliness, and years.

And when I behold that baby, I will find HOPE for today.  

021

One thought on “A Mommy in Need of a Manger

Leave a Reply

