He wins ALL the “parent points” ALL the time

I am so thankful that God is patient with His children…because if you miss the potty and pee on the floor more than once in a week, you might as well run for cover because this Mama has had it. Two times last week…two times.

I am so thankful that God never loses track of His children…because I have most definitely thought I lost one or both of the kids several times in their short lives.

I am so thankful that God can handle more than one request from more than one child at a time…because I find it extremely difficult to cook eggs while simultaneously attempting to monitor the progress of a bowel movement, shove cereal into a screaming orifice, and remove the pile of stinky diapers from the kitchen counter.

I am so thankful that God knows exactly what His children need even if they can’t articulate it…because I find it absolutely daunting to understand why my three year-old is throwing himself on the floor in frustration because I can’t quite understand what in the world he is asking of me.

I am so thankful that God keeps His promises to His children…because I most definitely make, change, and forget promises as I go and as time permits.

I am so thankful that God is always willing to listen to His children…because if I’m being perfectly honest, sometimes I want to find a small, sound-proof corner that is big enough for only me, my coffee, my book, and my Cool Ranch Doritos.

I am so thankful that God cares about all of His children’s hurts…because sometimes I want to scream, “You have a hangnail on your big toe. For crying out loud (oh wait, you are), you didn’t break your leg. Suck it up!”

I am so thankful that God knows how to love His children even at their worst…because I have yet to master the “let-me-love-you-even-though-you-just-screamed-in-my-face-and-told-me-you-didn’t-love-me-anymore” love.

I am so thankful that God doesn’t avoid His children…because there are times when I have feigned bowel movements just to avoid my children. It’s true.

I am so thankful that God doesn’t need a special device in order to hear His children…because without those handy-dandy monitors,  I’m pretty I would still be laying cozy in my bed while she screams and he continues to ask, “Is there any answer?”

I am so thankful that God isn’t distracted when attending to His children’s needs…because I can’t even recount the amount of times that I was headed for a snack, a story, a drink, a diaper, a toy, a time-out, a blankie, a baby… and got distracted with a text, a task, a call, a “comment,” a “pin,” a picture, a message, or a mirror.

I am so thankful that God doesn’t tire of caring for His children…because after a long day of caring for just two, I pretty much collapse into a pile of useless mush and need a giant prayer and a healthy shot of caffeine to get me going the next morning.

I am so thankful that God isn’t selfish when it comes to loving His children…because there are many times when I just want to eat a meal slowly…read a book in silence…go to the bathroom alone…have a conversation uninterrupted… drink a cup of coffee hot…shower in peace…and have a night of undisturbed sleep.

I am so thankful that God forgives His children and remembers their sins no more….because though I forgive, I surely haven’t forgotten the times my love has been dismissed and my words have been disregarded by a disobedient child.

I am so thankful that God is relentless in pursuing His children…because I easily tire of running up and down a flight of 12 steps to fight with a fussing baby who is refusing my arms and resisting my help.

Suffice to say, I am REALLY glad that God doesn’t parent like I do.  

So what do I do about all of my defective and deficient parenting skills?

Is there any help?

Is there any hope?

“My grace is all you need. My power works best in weakness.” -2 Corinthians 12:9 

His grace is all I need to help me parent?

Yep.

His power works best in my weakness?

Yep.

Are you sure?

Yep.

But how are you sure?

Because when this Daddy makes a promise, He always keeps it. 

066

** Placing your baby on a pumpkin, parenting fail 65,370 **

2 thoughts on “He wins ALL the “parent points” ALL the time

  1. What a great picture of the Lord’s faithfulness. Thank you for consistently using your parenting successes and struggles to remind us of God’s enduring and perfect parenting. Love you, friend!

  2. wow, I was nodding my head in agreement to almost all of these scenarios. (maybe except the feigned BM… LOL) These are wonderful reminders of our dependency on the Lord and His perfect parenting. We all fail so often. Thank God there is hope!!

Leave a Reply

