Shoppe Talk and a Give-a-Way

There are certain things we just know about ourselves and here’s two things I just know about me:

1. I will probably never open an adorable Etsy shop or charming boutique of my own, but I will probably spend the rest of my life admiring the creativity of others and delighting in the loveliness of their creations.

2. If ever I did open my own little place of creativity, I would most definitely call it a “shoppe” because who doesn’t appreciate “the deliberately archaic spelling of shop that is used in the hopes of imbuing a store with old-fashioned charm or quaintness?”

And now that all of that self-reflection about shops and shoppes has come to an enjoyable end, I have decided that on occasion I will be featuring one of these creative sisters and their lovely work on my blog.

Oh, and did I mention that they’ll be doing a GIVE-A-WAY!?!? Not like the “once-a-month-for-a-good-cause-give-a-way,” but an extra “let’s-enjoy-beauty-and-the-creative-minds-that-make-the-trinkets-that-go-in-these-charming-shoppes” give-a-way!

So, without further ado, let me introduce you to Lindsey and her Etsy shop, Violets for Emerson.

IMG_1804

Who are you?

I am a follower of Christ, a wife, a mom to two beautiful children, an elementary art teacher, and an artist. I strive each day to find beauty in a simple life full of grace.

What inspired your Etsy shop?

Violets for Emerson is an Etsy shop specializing in children’s wall art. The focus is creating inspirational, Bible based works of art.The idea of creating an Etsy shop came to me simply out of a need to create art.  Life is busy, especially with small children, and running this shop gives me that extra bit of motivation that I need to keep creating, to keep working, to keep learning.   

What do you enjoy most about the products you make?

I think what I enjoy most is sitting at our craft table drawing or working on the computer while my 3 year old daughter Violet is sitting right across from me creating her own works of art. I don’t believe I would invest nearly as much time into creating this shop if it wasn’t a common interest that I could share with her.  

In the past few months, what has been one of your favorite “uploaded memories” that you hope to tuck away and treasure forever?

We recently spent a week on family vacation with my husband’s side of the family which included 6 children under the age of 7. It was craziness for sure but I will always treasure watching how excited my children were to spend time with their cousins. My son was so excited, in fact, that he woke up at 5:30 every morning! 

Could you share a recent example of a time where you received a “downloading of grace” and how it blessed your heart?

That week (mentioned above) would actually be a perfect example of uploading memories and downloading a lot of much-needed grace! 

What are you giving away? 

I am giving away an 8×10 print of a bible verse illustration I created for Joshua 24:15, “As for me and my house, we will serve the Lord.”

house framed

So how can YOU win this lovely Shoppe give-a-way? 

In the comment section below, share a favorite “uploaded memory” that you have recently tucked away for safe-keeping. 

Using a random lottery system, the winner will be chosen and notified on Friday! Happy memory-sharing! 

 

9 thoughts on “Shoppe Talk and a Give-a-Way

  1. Walking about our new apartment complex and discovering it through Caleb’s eyes. He doesn’t see the smog, dirt, and big buildings, but the fishies, birds, and other children. It’s such a good perspective and I’m thankful to have him to remind me!

  2. My favorite memory recently is when my son crawled in bed early one morning and said-“this is my favorite place to be, with my family.” 🙂

  3. Just yesterday, Brody randomly said, “This is my favorite place– my house.” and then later, looked into my eyes, wrapped his arms around my neck and said, “Mommy.. I love you forever.” Parenting is an act of faith because you may never know the extent of your impact, but in truth it is huge. I will tuck this memory away and keep it forever!

  4. So, I guess my favorite uploaded memory lately is the one on one time I get to spend with Tess. With Jace at school and the two little boys sleeping during nap time, we get to do special things together. We have had a girls movie time (Snow White) and popcorn, painted in my “studio,” and just played together. It is so hard to find one on one time with all my kids, so I treasure these times that I get to spend just me and my girl. 🙂

  5. I realize this is late and I don’t have any “tiny tale” memories to share. But I must say that as an empty-nester, I have enjoyed every stage of parenthood. From infancy, toddler, preschool, elementary, junior and senior high – I have been blessed by the beauty of life found in family! ENJOY, LOVE, LAUGH, SMILE, SING, DANCE, BE GOOFY! It’s beautiful making memories with your children at EVERY stage! AND the sweetness found in the task is abounding joy! Also, there’s a bonus…empty nest is just a new stage, an incredibly exciting one!

Leave a Reply

