Superpowers

There are days when I look at the mirror on the wall and realize this Mom is NOT SUPER at all. 

Like the days when I offer a lollipop bribe instead of taking the time to disciple and prescribe.

Like the days when I wish away the rice-cereal phase and short someone a story and forget the praise.

Like the days when I neglect to wash his hands, skipping his teeth, and obeying his demands.

Like the days when I make up silly, dumb excuses and choose to dwell on the spilled, sticky juices.

Like the days when I am quick to discipline and chide and forget that this boy needs some grace supplied.

Like the days when I raise my voice and scream and forget that we’re on the very same team.

Like the days when I run to the bathroom and hide, feigning a shower, and nursing my pride.

Like the days when I sit with my book on the bench, hoping he won’t notice and she won’t need quenched.

Like the days when I pray for the nap to arrive and then pray again that I can keep them alive.

Like the days when I crawl for the bed and the couch and realize I’ve been nothing but a mean, nasty grouch.

Yeah, those days. There are a BUNCH of those days.

And then…

There are days when I look at the mirror on the wall and SUPERMOM appears and is quite the doll. 

Like the days when I find myself enjoying the ride, savoring the moments and resting inside.

Like the days when I offer a prayer and an ear, and take the time to hold them so near.

Like the days when I smile and find joy in the messes and grab for my camera to capture those stresses.

Like the days when I choose to follow things through and remember they hear what I say and I do.

Like the days when I’m quick to dole out the grace, offer the justice, and pray for His face.

Like the days when I keep my temper in check, count to ten in my head, and refuse to be Shrek.

Like the days when I engage and help him to play and the times when I refuse to let my hope stray.

Like the days when I choose to model my voice and help them see how to make a good choice.

Like the days when I give of myself so free, forget the mistakes and instruct with glee.

Like the days when I lay my sleepy head down and thank God for His grace that I did not drown.

Yeah, those days. There are SOME of those days.

But then…

There are days when I look at the mirror on the wall and realize this Mom just needs HIM for ALL. 

No cape at my nape…no strength on my own…I need to keep Him on His kingly throne.

 

006

One thought on “Superpowers

  1. Such sweet & oh so true observations of daily life with your small children! It takes me back to those days. Be encouraged as you walk holding their hands & pointing to Jesus, speaking His truth into their hearts & lives. They see Him in your face & voice, in your love & daily devotion to your family-the best job The Lord can give us. Philippians 3:12-14. I look forward to reading more! Press on, dear one! Love, Eileen

Leave a Reply

