A Princess, A Dragon, and a Wrecking Ball

It wasn’t even 16 seconds after his little eyes popped open this morning when he urgently asked me, “Mommy, you want to play with me!?!?”

I must hear this question over a hundred times a day (I wish I was exaggerating) and though I enjoy being with my son, his idea of fun and play is not necessarily mine!

He picks the toys.

(I always get stuck with the cast-a-way, super boring toy that has no batteries and surely has a toy complex).

He picks how we play with the toys.

(I am always given the most sedentary, unappealing job).

He picks where we play with the toys.

(I am most often asked  to crawl behind him on my knees to a small spot on the hard floor where I now need to sit cross-legged for the next 20 minutes with the boring toy doing the unappealing job).

He picks how long we play with the toys.

(This could range anywhere from 23 seconds to all day).

So with a quick, “Lord, give strength to face this day of play” prayer, I said, “Sure, buddy. Let Mommy grab her contacts and coffee.”

After finding my sight and securing my java, I made my way to his room with baby and Bumbo in tow.

“So what are we going to play, buddy?”

“We gonna play dragons and castles!!”

SWEET!! I can sit in a comfortable spot, build something awesome, AND drink my coffee. I can EASILY do this for 20 minutes without needing knee replacements.

After a few minutes of setting up a pretty sweet-action Duplos scene (complete with a dragon sitting on top of the princess’ castle) we were ready to play! Okay, okay…so maybe it’s not all that awesome. No judging; I just woke up and the coffee hadn’t started its magic!

002

“Mommy, that dragon doesn’t belong in the castle!”

HERE WE GO…he is already calling the shots (again). DEEP BREATH…YOU ARE THE ADULT!

“Why not?” I asked.

With an incredulous sigh he said, ” Because Mommy! The dragon could tear down that castle and give the princess a boo-boo! We need to get that dragon out with a wrecking ball right now!!”

It’s at this point when I’m not exactly sure how to explain to you why Psalm 101 came to mind.

I’m not sure if the Lord has just decided that using Duplos is the best way to reinforce Biblical concepts in my finite mind, or if He knew that I needed another reminder of this Psalm’s Truths. Either way, the content of Psalm 101 came flooding into my mind.

“He who practices deceit shall not dwell within my house;
He who speaks falsehood shall not maintain his position before me.
Every morning I will destroy all the wicked of the land,
So as to cut off from the city of the Lord all those who do iniquity.” -v. 7&8 

If I have ever read this Psalm before, it has certainly never flagged my radar. Not only was this Psalm of David the focus of my Bible study last week, but it also served as the main content for Sunday’s sermon.

In this Psalm, David is committing himself to a radical approach in dealing with sin and evil.

He is refusing to let sin dwell in his living quarters, and he is insisting that he will not be surrounded by those who practice evil. He is so serious about his desire to live in integrity and holiness that he commits to waking up every morning and waging war on the wicked and those practicing sin.

I promise that dropping cannon balls on my neighbors, shooting fiery darts at my children, launching missiles at my husband, and strapping explosives to my body were NOT the thoughts that crossed my mind when I first read those words last week! Though I imagine that would have made for some interesting headlines in the Dayton Daily News.

Rather…

I was convicted to start each morning aware of the sin in myself…the sin that seeks to destroy me.

I was challenged to be alert to the sin around me…the sin that intends to tempt me.

I was convinced that I needed to be aware of the enemy…the sin that attempts to threaten and weaken me.

In a nut shell, I need to have my big ‘ol wrecking ball ready because there is a dangerous dragon that is attempting to attack my castle and seeking to give me boo-boos. 

This dragon is nothing but a deceitful, murderous, tempting, lying, wicked serpent that sometimes prowls like a roaring lion and other times parades himself like light. He is real; he is vicious; and he is on mission to steal the glory from the King of the castle.

Caden was right.

That dragon doesn’t belong in the King’s castle, and that princess needs a wrecking ball to get that dragon OUT!

Ephesians 6:11-17 encourages us to:

“Put on the full armor of God, so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes. For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms. Therefore put on the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand. Stand firm then, with the belt of truth buckled around your waist, with the breastplate of righteousness in place, and with your feet fitted with the readiness that comes from the gospel of peace. In addition to all this, take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one. Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God.” 

From the sounds of it, it appears that this princess has a whole set of armor that needs to be put on each morning…along with my wrecking ball and eyeliner, of course.

 

 

4 thoughts on “A Princess, A Dragon, and a Wrecking Ball

  1. Jessica,
    I loved your story! You have such a great talent for writing. I could definitely see what you wrote a something I would read on a Christian website that shares inspirational writing. Hope you and your family are well. I pray for you often. We are settling in slowly but surely. Noahs broken wrist was a bit of a setback. I read ”11/22/63”. It was great! I am reading ” The Kingdom ”, which is the 3rd in the Chiveis trilogy. Also ” Wild Goose Chase ”, Mark Batterson, and ” The Bear ”, Claire Cameron. I am still looking for a job.

    • Jeffrey!

      SO good to hear from you this morning!! Thank you for your kind words of encouragement! SO sorry to hear about Noah’s wrist…that is a big yuck! Thrilled to hear what you’re reading; I will have to check them out, for sure! Miss you, book buddy! Keep me updated on the job search and how I can be praying! Love to you and your fam as you start this new journey together! I read Proverbs 4:25-27, which was an encouragement to my heart as I walk the journey that is in front of me…praying that for you right now!

  2. Fantastic analogy and thought. As Paul said, “I die daily.” May we all see the need to “die to the flesh” each day so that we can walk in the Spirit.

Leave a Reply

