If Ever I Forget…

Some UGLY yet BEAUTIFUL things I am learning these days…

1. I can NOT find my identity in my child’s good behavior.
2. I can NOT let my identity be shaken in my child’s disobedient behavior.
3. I can NOT find my identity in my awesome days as a Mommy.
4. I can NOT let my identity be shaken on my rough days as a Mommy.
5. I can NOT find my identity in my “look pretty” moments.
6. I can NOT let my identity be shaken on my “look ugly” moments.
7. I can NOT find my identity in my accomplished days.
8. I can NOT let my identity be shaken on my unaccomplished days.
9. I can NOT find my identity by the approval of the others.
10. I can NOT let my identity be shaken by the disapproval of others.
11. I can NOT find my identity in my righteousness.
12. I can NOT let my identity be shaken by my sin.
13. My identity can NOT be based on anything but HIM and HIM ALONE. 

“If ever I forget
My true identity,
Show me who I am,
And help me to believe.
You have bought me back,
With the riches of,
Your amazing grace
And relentless love.
I’m made alive forever,
With you, life forever,
By your grace I’m saved,
By your grace I’m saved.
My sin has been erased,
I’ll never be the same.
My sin has been erased,
I’ll never be the same.” -Citizens, Made Alive

 

113

Leave a Reply

