Resting…Safely

I can’t tell you how many pictures of my sweet girl that I have taken where I have recently thought to myself, “She has not a worry in the world.”

Snuggling under her blankie. Cozy and Comfy. Breathing soundly and resting safely. She is not worried about where her next meal will come from or who will take care of her needs. She is not anxious about what will happen today or what tomorrow holds for her.

030
She just trusts. 

She trusts that her Mommy will feed her.She trusts that someone will bathe and change her. She trusts that we will not drop her, and she trusts that we will snuggle and hold her closely when she cries. She trusts that her needs will be met, and she trusts that we will meet them.

I, too, need that heart that so easily trusts. I need a heart that rests safely under His protection and provision. I need a heart that chooses trust rather than fear.

016
I need to heed those silent whispers to my heart, “Jessica, I have your needs under control. I know what today holds, and I know what you need tomorrow. I am not worried because I am God, and you do not need to worry because I am God. I hold the whole world in my hands. In fact, I hold your breath and beating heart in my hands. I will not be shaken because I am God, and you do not need to be shaken because I am God. I have walked with you forever and knew your needs even before you were a being on this earth. I do not fear because I am God, and you do not need to fear because I am God. I hold you in my arms, and I will provide.” 

He not only holds us and provides for us, but He also gives us the faith to trust that He holds us and provides for us. Thankful for that kind of God, a God who safely allows us to find rest in Him.

 

057

Leave a Reply

